Weekly photo challenge: Home

All roads can lead to home.. if you want them to, at least. This road is our daily reference.

DSC_1007-002

On the left, the old church that has seen many a family ceremony. On the right(not visible), a neighborhood shopping mall. Then, five minutes from here is our home.

You can even go beyond on that strip of road and drive in the direction for Paris. Or take a bus at a bus stop further up the road that can also take you to Paris.

But, I wasn’t going further than my road this morning.

I loved the silence of the scene on a Sunday morning. The church’s clock said that it was almost 8:30 a.m.. This cold Sunday morning discouraged a lot of passerby. Minus a few early birds on the road, it was an oasis of peace. I even allowed myself to go on the median strip to immortalize this view.

Enjoy your week.

25 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Home

  1. *laughing* I was gonna point out that they’re parked on the wrong side! But that’d be the right side for all of you even if it is the wrong side for all of us.

    What a peaceful moment–and go figure you’d stick yourself in the middle of the road for the shot. (yep….been known to do that on too many occasions!) And what a nifty little capture. And I like that touch of colour.
    It’s the places right around the corner/down the street/in my own back yard that astound me. Camera’s find things that I so easily dismiss.

    Happy Sunday to you and D! I hope your evening includes some quiet time to just BE.
    *laughing* I have an abundance of quiet time–and an ice storm. If I could, I’d be out slipsliding around with the camera.
    NO I WON’T DO IT!

    (did think about going out on the porch……..LOL….)

  2. Hey there Mel,
    You know, a lot of things look odd in another country! The cars are both parked on the right hand side of the road( from the way the driver arrived). OK; makes for a looksee, anyway :).
    Yup; blame it on my lil voice that said to go in the middle- and I went. No one there on a Sunday to drive over me… LOL!! Those bright yellow lines were looking to me like a b&w shot with a selective color. Yellow pops!!
    You are right; we dismiss a lot of little things in our everday settings. Maybe its time that I reunite with them, too…

    I am just going to mosey over and do non internet things now. Take care & be well…xox

    P.S. Beware about sitting on the porch in sub zero weather… we don’t want you getting cold! :)

  3. This is really lovely. Ironically, I first read this at 8:30 a.m. in Minnesota…well after your moment of reflection- yet your words and the image allowed me to glimpse that serene moment in your day. I imagined we met, as you concluded your photography, and shared a few moments at a cafe, savoring coffee and pastry. (Can you tell I feel utterly housebound, surrounded by cold and snow and ice?!!!) Stina

    • Hi Stina,
      Thank you! You never know; first you visualize;;; the view over the Eiffel tower with a hot choclate and a crunchy croissant. Visualizing is half way there! I hope for you to one day come here and enjoy with ll your senses.
      MN got bombed by snow! My cousin is most likely buried alive, too ;)

  4. “All roads can lead to home.. if you want them to, at least. This road is our daily reference.”

    Barb…I LOVE THAT!!!! And I also love this photo! Love the effect of the contrasting black and white against the single strip of color down the middle of the road. VERY nice :)

    Yes, you can really feel the serenity in this image. And is that a small plane or helicopter I see in the upper left-hand corner of the photo?

    Happy Sunday, my friend!

    (((((( You ))))))

    X to you and D!

    • Hi Ronnie,
      Thank you, my friend. I mulled the “home” theme in my head on Saturday, then I knew when I thought about that place just around the corner from home. But, at midday it is not as inducive to calm.
      Sunday is so cool at this hour. You can actually hear the birdsong. Then, the cars start rolling again. After 9 a.m., it’s busy again.
      Where the heck do cars have to go on a Sunday? (Minus those that work of, course).
      Oh, sweet mystery of life…

      Thanks for stopping by, babe.
      xox

    • Bonjour Anne,
      I could give you a hug if I could
      (((( Anne))))
      This was empowering for me. I have been take many strides in my life and this was a good post to illustrate this.
      You are intuitive. :)

    • Hi Zhu,
      Oh yes, you have been by here when we took you to the railroad station( note to readers: Zhu was in Paris & she stopped over in our hometown).
      Good memory!
      Bises.

    • Hi Bijoux,
      No bad at all next to commerces and on the bus line. I have 2 train stations on each side of the quarter ( 15-20 min walk for each). This train line also directly links us to Charles DeGaulle airport.
      Have a great day.

  5. Anne,
    I think that the model for parking would be about the same in the UK, too. Except that the side of the road that you drive on is on the left and it is on the right here. It must feel strange the first time driving on what is supposed to be one’s “wrong side” (like Brits that come to France with their car for holiday).. Habits are not easy to change!
    xox

    Cheers! xox

  6. Hi Mitzie,
    Thank you very much. There you go; envision your photo( imagining is important beforehand), learn and do! You will make it, I just know it ;).
    Happy weekend, my friend.

Leave a Reply

