Who has the key ?

Do you remember my previous post with the image of that bridge, and the door in the middle ?? Like this one :


What does all this mean ?…

The one above has it’s “guardian cat”, which reminds us that we can’t just go walk in.These are private properties, either homes, or gardens, or a combination of both.

No big secret; a door like this marks the beginning of  private  home or gardening area in the “hortillonnages”

So, no wandering about among the gardens unless you know someone there !

This door states it bluntly with : ” Forbidden to the public” & “Mean dog” ( the dog must be no longer around; the sign is really old)… but tries to console you with a few posies on the door.

We did get to see a tiny parcel of garden along the footpaths :

If anyone is interested the parcel is ” A vendre / for sale”… That’s too far for me to come and garden.So, it’s all a series of bridges & gates, which lead to homes/ garden behind them. My favorite of the homes that I saw :

The canal passing below this cozy home, with its faithful rowboat stored right under the dwelling.

Happy weekend everybody !

11 thoughts on “Who has the key ?

  1. Hi Barbara, never seen gates like that before ..very odd, but I suppose they work. I love the little cozy home ..very sweet and I just love the blue. 🙂 xx

  2. Hi Ann,

    Yes; it is quite a curiosity indeed ! A must for travlers in Amiens & region.
    It’s great to have nice natural spots like this within city limits.

    Isn’t that house a cutie ? Will you take out the boat, dear ?? I guess that the car is on the other side !

    Happy weekend ! xxx

  3. Bonjour Barbara!

    Ahhhhh….so now I see!

    The bridge with the door looks like something out of Alice in Wonderland – it’s magical!

    I went GA GA over that last photo of the canal running under the house.

    How utterly quaint!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!

    France is simply breathtaking!

    Have a great weekend!

    XOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  4. These are really good pictures! I’ve never been to Amiens, but would love to see the cathedrale and the waterways. I love the first gate; it looks as if it’s a rusted version of the pearly gates leading up to paradise.

    With your help, I’ve subscribed to your blog. Now I can keep tabs on your travels.
    Have a great day!

  5. Bonjour les amies !

    Dedene- You know that you are welcome here anytime !
    Thank you for the encouragement because I took all these pics, “comme une grande”.

    You are worrect; Amiens is worth the “détour”; the Cathédrale ( coming either tomorrow or Weds) is a beauty inside & out. A world heritage site on UNESCO’s list.
    I never thought of the pearly gates going to heaven; you are right; it looks like we are heading up ! 🙂
    Yes; subscription is the way to go; no worries !
    Cheers !

    Zhu- Salut ! It seems like those gates are getting a lot of imanginative “spin offs”, Alice in Wonderland ! You see, everyone is different when looking at pictures.

    I’m glad that you enjoyed these view.
    Bises xx

  6. Hi Ronnie,

    Not forgeting anyone here…
    Isn’t this a blast; being IN the city and being so completely in the countryside ?

    This is a MUST for visiting Amiens, which is the only large city I have visted that has these type of gardens near the river. I have seen municpal gardens in cities but this is not the same.It goes to show, every place has it’s unique sites if you look well.

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the pics; more are coming soon.

    Hugs XXX

  7. Céline- On va demander à D de faire sa maison de vacances bio et cultiver ses légumes bio avec 🙂 ça changerait un Parisien de quitter le béton pour la verdure.

Leave a Reply

