A trip back in time via Chinon

Hi friends,

Here’s a quick peek of a couple pics from a short trip that D&I took last week . We were in Chinon, located in the center of France :

A tranquil moment  alongside the boats on the river Vienne.

This street in the center of Chinon blew our minds… all the buildings are ancient / restored buildings.To give you an idea of how things have progressed in Paris vs the provinces, I know of only 2  ancient homes ( to distinguish from châteaux or more distinguished dwellings), that still exist in the center of Paris.

One of the tall towers at the Fortress.

This city was awesome, and I will tell you a few more stories a little later . I’m expecting a new work assignment, so I may/ may not be online the rest of the week. Stay tuned…

6 thoughts on “A trip back in time via Chinon

  1. Hello Barbara, so pleased you had a wonderful break. The town looks amazing ..and I love the river photo with the trees all lined up.. reminds me of the trees in Paris parcs. 🙂

  2. Bonjour Anne,

    Oh yes; we needed a break ! I counted and it was the first time we have traveled since 6 months ! I would definately come back here. I would love a few days in this region.

    You have noticed again the geometric precision of French trees that grow in cities, whilst their unkept “wild cousins” spread their branches in all directions.
    See you soon.
    XXOO

  3. OMG, Barb…these photos are soooooooooooo beautiful!

    And ya see, I love gray, overcast days like that! I actually prefer it to sunshine (I know, aren’t I sick?)

    That shot of the lake FEELS tranquil. And the photo of the street is MAGICAL. It almost looks like the Magic Kingdom in Disney!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    {{{{{ Barbara }}}}}
    xoxoxoxo

  4. Hi there,

    Hey Zhu ! Oh yes, you will learn a bit about Chinon through my posts. I love old villages and I can imagine with modern architecture everywhere inOttawa & Canada, these old builing are endearing to you. I myself went BACKWARDS; from a young nation, back to an old one that has so many things left from it’s past.
    XX

    B- Hi there; nice to see you again ! Maybe what’s a bit creepy is that no one is around, and the boats are empty too. Solitude… But, it’s sometimes nice to have that.
    Take care 🙂

Leave a Reply

