Poetry in motion

This statue in Saint Pancras station, London honors poet  Sir John Betjeman.Betjeman, who had helped save Saint Pancras station from demolition in the 1960s.

Sir John lived from  1906 –  1984) and was a poet, a  writer and broadcaster.

I like the humor of the posture & expression. Unlike a posed and stiff statue, he looks like anyone of us would look like, clutching his belongings in a train station . He also is admiring the surroundings.

Hey, been there,done that 🙂

This poet had lived in my friend Anne’s village,(Wantage) from 1972-1984.

On the base is written: Who saved this glorious station”.

There is also an exerpt from his poem, Cornish Cliffs :

And in the shadowless unclouded glare /

Deep blue above us fades to whiteness where /

A misty sea-line meets the wash of air.”

To read the complete poem, which is lovely, go to: http://www.sanjeev.net/poetry/betjeman-john/cornish-cliffs-182179.html

See you all soon with glimpses of Oxford city center 😉

9 thoughts on “Poetry in motion

  1. Great photos and really interesting about the poet — who lived in Anne’s part of England for a while!

    Glad you had a good trip – look forward to more of your great pics.

    Cheers and happy travels.

  2. Super photo Barbara… How great that him and I have a connection… ! And the station has a connection with Paris and my friends 🙂

  3. That’s a cool statue! Poetry is just so beautiful… it’s an art I could never master but I do enjoy it.

    Off to Oxford you go, have fun and take care!

  4. Bonjour Barabara!

    GRrrrrreat shot!

    AWESOME statue! It actually looks like the wind is blowing him! LOVE the expression on his face!

    Can’t wait to see more!

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend, my friend….X

  5. Hi friends,

    Carolyn- Hello dear. I’am excited that you & Clive will soon be on our side of the globe. Yeah!! I was sure that you would enjoy these,knowing & loving England. I try and learn a little something each time on a trip.
    I’m waiting for you both. XX

    Anne- Hi there. Thank you. Well, you so thoughtfully pointed out the statue to me.
    Yes, there are connections running all over here, and it is so much the better.
    I remember having to memorize a poem once and it starts ” No man is an island”…
    True; we all need other people XO

    Ron- Hello my friend. Yes, MR B looks like he is ready to walk off! Very natural and realistic indeed! When I was researching about him, I learned that his family “coached” the sulpteur about the way the poet moved,dressed,walked,etc etc.
    Now thats art 🙂
    Happy weekend, honey XX

    B- Hi there. It’s nice to see you. Isn’t this so clever? I loved this work. I bet when the lights go out at closing, it looks like someone is standing in the dark…
    An amazing artwork! You are welcome. Have a great weekend 🙂

    Zhu- Bonjour chérie. I’am like you, a frustrated poet! How I tried when I was young. It looks easy but it is not at all.
    Lets stay behind the camera lens… 🙂 Bises

  6. Hi Barbara,

    Isn’t that statue just amazing! I’ve only seen it once – when I went to London in the train – and was most impressed. Betjeman’s poetry is rather quirky and fun too!

    Joyce x

  7. Hi friends,

    Joyce- How are you dear? So, you have seen it also.
    I learned about who this man was and I appreciated the poem on the staue.
    As for Saint Pancras, it is beautiful! I hope to return xo

    Leesa- I think that I remember why you didn’t see this fellow. You were in a shop a few minutes from the café( a natural cosmetics shop), and I went back to see Anne ( who was with our bags). She said ” why don’t you go and see the poet’s staue”? Which I did.

    Honestly, in the time we were there, we did so many comings and going killing time!!

    xx

Leave a Reply

