The mysterious charm of Saint Leu

This is a pleasant quarter called Saint Leu, in Amiens. Here, you find little homes, restaurants and shops tucked away behind the great cathedral:

What ???

It looks like a man standing in the river with a sack on his head.

It is actually a sculpture. Though I imagine that passing through for thr first time in the dark, you might get spooked ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember Claire( my friend’s family member) saying that there were two others in the river…

What do you make of this statue?? I feel perplex!

I feel like returning to Saint Leu on a future trip to discover more of this quaint quarter.

6 thoughts on “The mysterious charm of Saint Leu

  1. Hello Barbara..Where is this?? It looks wonderful …quaint little houses too.

    it sure does look like a man with a sack on his head, and quite spooky.

    Take care Hugs Anne xoxo

    Don’t think I am going to get back to Paris before next April ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Ooooo…ooooo…LOVE these shots, Barb!

    Cute, quaint, and absolutely charming! Reminds me a bit of the canals in Amsterdam.

    OMG, the guy sculpture in the river is faaaaabulous!! It looks like he’s wallking on water!!!

    Hope you’re enjoying a wonderful Monday, my friend!

    ((( Barb )))

    xoxoxo

  3. Hello friends-
    Anne- Bonjour! I am glad that you liked these pics. Although that chap in the river didn’t charm you very much.
    You know, Amiens is only an hour’s trip each way from gare du Nord. That would be great if you were ever in Paris a longer period. And speaking of Paris, it looks like it will be Paris in the Springtime for you…
    You will make it; Courage! xo

    Ronnie- Hello my friend! Yes; Amsterdam! You should know, you have been there ๐Ÿ™‚
    This area was very quaint and I do want to return to discover more.
    So, you found a cool “water walker”! I found a curiosity! But art is like that. Each person sees and feels a work differently. It made me somewhat nervous…

    Hugs xx R xx
    xo

  4. What a beautiful little spot in your travels Barbara. So quaint! By the way, when I clicked on your link in my comments, I came to a weird page that said profile not available? It’s a shame to not share what you have here.

  5. Hi there,

    Ro- Hello! Yes, I do love going to Amiens. It is just an hour trip over there. I love small quarters where you can actually walk;
    That weird page was my old blog (which you knew) I closed that out one year ago and have not returned! i talked to you on e mail about all that. That sometimes happens to bloggers when a blog is inactive.To be continued…

    Zhu- Hey there! I am glad that you enjoyed these pics! This was a “high light” day; Anything that reflects light is great photo material. I love water’s reflexions and the window were like mirrors ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love those old wooden homes ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

