If it’s January, then it must be photostock

Hello friends,

Yes, the first week of a new year is reality check time. We return to jobs,obligations and the like. And, as much as I would like to “wing it”, it looks like I will be stuck at home for the rest of winter.

Oh well; that fabulous world tour can wait….

But, for such lulls as these I have only one thing to say:  “Vive photostock!” Through the magic of our personal archives, I still have “treasures” to share…

Just like last January, when I rolled out my Hawaii beach pics ( one of these posts that had the most hits was  Which way to the beach?; my goodness, over 1,100 hits alone on that one!). Well, knock me down with a beach ball!

This month, I am going to show you one of my favorite US cities, Philadelphia:

( How  tall you have grown, little colony! Independence Hall and neighboring buildings).

I have so far, just shared a few selected images of the city of brotherly love. I am not holding out on you all but, this is one of my “touchy-feely” cities . It is not just a place on a map for me. It is so much more than that.

Not only is Philadelphia the birthplace of America itself,  but is also the cornerstone of my own family. I had several generations who either immigrated here or were born here. Closest to me, my Dad and his parents were natives of the city.Each time I have been here, I felt that I have been walking in the footsteps of my family.For myself, Philadelphia is all about roots. Not just mine, but of all Americans.

It is a big city, but smaller than NYC, and I think a tad less “frenzied”.While the big apple has its sprawling boroughs, Philly has a more of a  neighborhood feeling. This city is definitely walkable and that is always a plus.

As usual, I am going to make my photo selection and share all that with you very soon!

Have a great weekend!

P.S Thought of the day “ A real friend is always happy for his/her friend’s good fortune”.

Two of my friends are currently traveling . Lucky people! You can enjoy their beautiful photography,too.

Zhu is in Australia.

Leesa is currently in route to Costa Rica (she will be staying there for 2-3 months).

I will add Ron also, because he was recently in NYC and has( and will continue to) post NYC pics!

Stop in their blogs and enjoy their beautiful photography!

 

2 thoughts on “If it’s January, then it must be photostock

  1. Bonjour Barbara!

    Oh how wonderful that your sharing photos of Philly! I know how much this city means and feels for you!

    LOVE the shot of Independence Hall. In fact, I was just down there not too long ago. Society Hill is my favorite part of this city. So old! So historical! Love the cobblestone streets!

    Looking forward to seeing more of your great photos!

    ” A real friend is always happy for his/her friend’s good fortune”.

    Same to YOU, my friend!

    ((( Barb ))))

    Have a great weekend!

    xoxoxo

  2. Hello Ronnie,

    Oh yes, I have been meaning to do this for awhile. I have been “sneaking it in” 🙂 You know how I feel. And now the world knows, too!
    That pic of Independence hall just “jumped ” at me this morning. What a contrast…
    I have more too, that I never published. I love Society Hill, too. So quiet and quaint.

    I am really looking forward to sharing more pics.

    Take care of yourself & send my love to Love city 🙂
    xo

Leave a Reply

