Red bricks & lace curtains

Here a some examples of the different styles of homes that we admired as we strolled through Philly:

Colorful shutters and red brick.

Old home near the Historical area.

A very British look…

Brick row houses show their colors. God bless America and the Irish too!( Hey, I am 3/4 Irish thanks to Dad).

D & I called this “the purple house”. It was on a street behind our B&B.

This is a private courtyard so let us mind our manners…

See where we are?! It is the real name of this place! But it turns out this is a family name.So, I guess that it wasen’t as exciting as we might imagine. Just a dude with that funny name who founded this.In any case, its founding precedes the American revolution.

I will take you to a funky house the next time 🙂

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Red bricks & lace curtains

  1. Bonjour Barbara!

    *thunderous applause*

    Oh, what AWESOME photos!!! As you know, this is my favorite section of Philadelphia because of all the history and architecture, so I know it well. Especially the fifth photo down (Spruce Street).

    Funny, I was thinking of you this past weekend,while down in that area. I was on Elfreth’s Alley, which is the oldest street in Philly. Love the cobblestone street!

    Thanks for sharing this pictorial journey, my friend! I need to find out where that “Drunker’s Court” is – hilarous!

    Have a terrific Tuesday!

    xoxoxo

  2. Hi Ronnie,

    Thank you, dear; it is always a huge pleasure sharing here 🙂
    I am not scolding you but darn it for us; Elfreth’s alley was one spot we missed! Next time for sure we will do it! I so love the old brick homes, esp near the historical area. I could see myself in one of those. The only drawback; Philly’s very humid summers.

    Great; you filled me into the place where we found the homes with the columns. Spruce street.

    No kidding; you have never been to Drinker’s court? Hehe 🙂 Now you have and you are as dry as a desert.
    I had to add the sign because seeing is believing.

    Have a great day and XO down to ya in Philly.

  3. Just been enjoying your photos. Philly looks good – makes me think we will visit the US again some time…! Right now it’s busy busy time here, so no time/inspiration to write my blog as am preparing for a talk I’m giving in Edinburgh.

    Joyce :-))

  4. Hello Joyce,

    I am happy to see you here 🙂
    Phladelphia would be an interesting choice if you come back to the US. There is much History here to discover. It is a big city but accesable on foot,or bus. And now, you know someone who can fill you in to what is a must to see!

    Take care
    XO

Leave a Reply

