A trip through Asia at the Guimet museum

When you cannot physically travel, a museum can be an outlet  for your wanderlust. You can imagine yourself in other countries and discover what makes each culture unique.

Yesterday’s radiant winter sun gave me courage to take the one hour trip from my suburban home up to Paris. My destination: the Musée Guimet/ Guimet museum, near the Trocadero and the Eiffel tower.

This museum is specialized in Asian art and has a large collection from countries such as; China, Japan, Cambodia, India, etc.

I will be showing you a few of my discoveries in the following days. Below is the first picture that features these elegant women:

These ladies look richly attired and seem to be leading a life of leisure.

This is a painted screen( one part of two)from the second half of the 18th century. I don’t want to give a bad impression on International Woman’s day, but the artwork is called “Courtesans under the weeping willows”. I am just going to concentrate on their beautiful attire and gentle postures. It is an elegant piece of art.

There is more coming this week; I just downloaded my pictures.

I hope to see you soon! Scroll down for a totally unrelated post that follows this one.

xo

4 thoughts on “A trip through Asia at the Guimet museum

  1. “When you cannot physically travel, a museum can be an outlet for your wanderlust. You can imagine yourself in other countries and discover what makes each culture unique.”

    OMG….that’s so TRUE, Barbara! It’s like traveling to various places without actually traveling.

    *clapping*

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this gorgeous piece of art you shared here today! And that’s the perfect word…..elegant!

    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us this week!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. And as you already know…..I love Asian art!

    Have a super Tuesday……xoxoxoxox

  2. Hey there Ronnie,

    I am happy to see you here, ready to hop on board for a short trip to Asia!
    I LOVED this place! It had 4 floors of art, but I wanted to just concentrate on a few countries this time and return in the near future with D.

    Museum travel can be cool. It is definately like leaving home all the while still being close by.
    There are a few more goodies coming so hang on xoxox

  3. I walked nearby a few times but never visited it. It’s sad to say but in Paris as a tourist you have to pick your museums as you can’t visit them all. But Guimet is on my “must go” list and I’m curious to see your pics.

  4. Salut Zhu,

    Everyone who travels knows this; there is not enought time to do everything!
    That why we have to make priorities.
    I highly recommend musée Guimet! I have done the musée du Quai Branly also, but the collections were not that big. despite some nice pieces. And the lighting was trickier than at Guimet.

    Stick around; more photos are coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

