International woman’s day

Hello friends and a special thought to women today and everyday. Because for people who really care, it is Women’s day everyday!

Just look at this lady:

An authentic archive exclusive! This dates back from 1995. We were on a beach that summer in Normandy in the area that they call “La Côte fleurie/ The flowered coast. We were cruising and enjoying a nice day when we noticed a group of people. This is what we found. A group of young people doing a weightlifting demonstration!

This young lady sums it up for being a woman; shouldering the weight all while keeping a certain grace and beauty. She is awesome!!

I am not as physically strong as this Miss, but mentally I am bearing loads of a giant everyday. Basta… I am not going to think of my problems, here. My blog is my freedom zone where I spread my wings.

Have a great day and treat the women in your life to the respect and love that they deserve, each and everyday!  My virtual offering; a beautiful  rose to all the sisters everywhere in the world:

4 thoughts on “International woman’s day

  1. Hey Barbara!

    I read a post on someone’s blog yesterday about International Women’s Day, yet had never heard of it before!?!

    However….I think it’s faaaaaaaaabulous!

    “Because for people who really care, it is Women’s day everyday!”

    You said it, girl! Women ROCK!

    LOVE both photos. The girl weightlifting is AWESOME!

    Happy International Women’s Day, my friend!

    ((((( Barb ))))))

    xoxoxo

  2. Hey there Ron,

    I knew that you would be behind your sisters! Wooo!!
    In’tl Women’s day is more symbolic . In France, there are a lot of conferences and other events about women’s rights/ inequalities.

    Don’t ya love the weightlifting gal?!
    I had a song in my head when doing this post. Remember Helen Reddy??

    ” I am woman hear me roar
    In numbers too big to ignore
    And I know too much to go back an’ pretend
    ’cause I’ve heard it all before
    And I’ve been down there on the floor
    No one’s ever gonna keep me down again”

    “Oh yes I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to, I can do anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman”

    Yeah!!
    xo

  3. I smiled when I read “basta” – this is my mum’s favourite word 🙂

    I know it’s not easy everyday, not easy to be strong, but you gotta try!

  4. Salut Zhu,
    Thanks so much for your encouragement. Yes, I go up and down. Only human but all situations after losing a family member are always intense.
    I hang on; I am 3/4 Irish through Dad. It makes me stubborn and try I do!!
    Basta 🙂 I like this word too. Flashback to Maman, eh? hehe.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

