Bring on the enlightenment

I was really taken away by the Chinese Buddhist exhibits at Guimet.

Here, you walk into an exhibit area where nearly everything was tinted with spirituality. I felt like a puny mortal going in there . But amazingly enough, there is calm and peace radiating from this room.

I chose these two statues of Buddha:

This statue dates from the middle of the 6th century and comes from North China. There is Buddha surrounded by his monks.

That one is rather awe-inspiring, but I love the second one. It also dates from the 6th century, but almost looks modern in style:

That is serenity!

Tomorrow, I will show you a very beautiful spot in this same exhibit room. If I had stayed longer, maybe I would have also found my enlightenment.

4 thoughts on “Bring on the enlightenment

  1. *clapping and cheering wildlly*

    Yahoooo….I LOVE this post, Barbara! Beeeeutiful photos!

    I don’t know whether I ever told you this before, but I collect Buddha statues. I have them all placed along a bookcase that lines my windows. I love to light tealights in front of them at night, because they glow with such a peacefulness.

    It’s like you shared…..

    “That is serenity!”

    Happy Thursday, my friend!

    xoxoxoxxo

  2. Hey there buddy,

    I am happy that you enjoyed this one. It was my pleasure.
    Now, I had NO idea that you were a Buddha collector! I am sure that they all give you peace and serenity. Beautiful idea to put lights in front of them.

    Stay serene and see you tomorrow for another “illumination”.
    XO

  3. We saw a lot of Buddha statues in Thailand, including a solid gold one (worth a lot of money!) and a 30-meters long one. These ones are so old… interesting!

  4. Salut Zhu,

    I imagine that you and your best half have seen all kinds of Budhas in Thailand! There is not a single gold one at Guimet; I guess that they wanted to keep them all at home!
    These must be the ancestors of many of the Buddhas!
    Bises.

Leave a Reply

