The National renaissance museum at the château d’Ecouen

Yesterday was what I would call a fun day. My hubby had a day off, and we had the time to take an inexpensive yet very fulfilling journey back in time through a French château!

Our destination: The Renaissance museum in Ecouen, in the Northern Paris subburbs( in the département 95). This is 20 minutes away from Paris’ gare du Nord, via the suburban train line called le Transilien.

A few pics below of the exterior:

After a relaxing 20-30 minute walk through a forest, you arrive at the side of the château.

To give you an idea of  how a classic French garden is like.  Taken from a window inside the castle. symmetry and clean lines…

Finally, the front view.

It was a delightful experience. We strolled through Renaissance apartments, admired precious tapestries,numerous objects that were  both mundane and precious( including a treasure room with a secured door!), a beautiful chapel and much more.

Stick around and I hope that you will enjoy our trip through the Renaissance in France. You will keep in mind as you go through the pics that we are in 14th-17th centuries.

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “The National renaissance museum at the château d’Ecouen

  1. I like the front view with the stormy clouds!

    There are so many castles around Paris, we should remember they are not just for tourist, it’s a fun visit 😉

  2. Bonjour Babara~

    I was so happy to see your post today!

    OMG, this castle is exquisite! As soon as I saw the first photo, I immediately thought that I had seen this castle in a film. It looks very familiar, like I’ve seen it before in one of those grand and epic films about French royalty!

    Gorgeous photos! I love the French garden – it’s beautiful!

    So glad you and hubby were able to take a little jaunt out to the subburbs. Don’t you love taking the train?

    Thank you for sharing, my friend! Thoroughly enjoyed!

    X)

  3. Bonjour les amis!

    Zhu- Salut; comment ça va?
    We loved this place, and the idea of a day trip had been calling me for weeks. I had a good time 🙂
    Yes, I like contrasts, like having a blue sky and finding some dark clouds. Le clair-obscur est cool! Bises.

    Ronnie- Hey there! I knew that you would be ready for a new jaunt 🙂 I was so ready for new scenery. I should say hungry for travel & discoveries.
    You probably have seen this castle in a historic film. Many castles in France are settings to films.

    I am so glad that you enjoyed. Come back soon to see the beautiful settings and objects inside.
    xo

Leave a Reply

