Joëlle

I was fumbling with my computer printed map, trying to locate  a gravestone. Then, I heard a French accent say :

” You look for Man Ray?”( Note to myself: find this one next time).

“Non, Joëlle”, I answered back in French.

The man took the lead and I led me to the gravestone. He was either a guide or someone who was passionate about the place. Because he said that he knew how to find some… 3,000 graves!

I thanked the man and  I was left alone to pay my respects to Joëlle.

Her name was Joëlle Choupay- Mogensen, but was known as “Joëlle”.She was born in New York in 1953. She was through her father, Danish, and by her mother, French-Vietnamese. She had grown up in the US, Denmark and finally in France. She passed away at the tender age of 29.

She sang during the 70’s & 80’s in a group that was called “Il était une fois/ once upon a time”. Even though I had not grown up in France, I have been able to listen to and appreciate their music more than once.

Joëlle sang what I consider to be one of the most beautiful duos in French music- “J’ai encore rêvé d’elle”/ ” I dreamt about her again”.  I am leaving you with the lvideo. Even if you don’t speak French, you can easily appreciate the beauty of  the song.

5 thoughts on “Joëlle

  1. Wow Barbara , he must of been very very passionate to be able to lead you straight there ..:-) The photos in the previous post are very interesting too .. love the mobiles, I wonder where they came up with the ideas for the designs.. hugs anne xox

  2. WOW! What a beautifully touching post, Barbara!

    I had chills listening to the song! Jolelle was not only beautiful, but had a voice to match! The voice of an angel!

    And died at only 29? How young.

    Thank you for sharing, my friend. I will go over to You Tube sometime this week and see if I can find more of her music.

    Have a great week!

    OXOXOX

  3. Anne- Nice to see you! It is always nice to have help. This man must have known the cemetery very well. A handy man to have in there 🙂
    Yes, the shiny mobile model is very unique and light hearted. The only inscription that I could read was; FABRICE. So, the mystery lives on for eternity. xo

    Ronnie- I am glad if this post touched you. This pop artist was like a “shooting star”. Very beautiful and talented. The man she sang with was her partner in real life also. Their voices are perfect together and so touching.
    The poor lady had a pulmonary edema(accumulation of fluids). That is so sad.

    xo to you

  4. I know the song but I didn’t know the name of the singer! How did I miss it… I don’t know. I guess it’s the kind of song you always hear but don’t pay close attention to!

  5. Salut Zhu- I think that everyone in France who is about 25+, has heard this through their parents/ by themselves.

    On parle des “classiques” 🙂
    Now you know that it is “Il était une fois” and Joëlle behind this haunting air.
    Bises x

Leave a Reply

