To be continued…

I am ending this mini tour of Montparnasse cemetery (for the meanwhile), with the most enigmatic gravestone that I saw.

This is a sculptor’s gravestone.  It was really quite conventional for the period. There is a bust on top (you can’t see it here) and below a sculpture of a little guy that has a pencil in his hand. The birth and death dates are there and underneath, the little guy is drawing what looks like a line.

What could this line mean? It is really curious. It is like creation is still continuing from the artist even after his death.

I’m glad if you enjoyed the tour 😉 I do want to return another day!

P.S. I have a second post after this one about a poet named Charles Baudelaire.

4 thoughts on “To be continued…

  1. “What could this line mean? It is really curious. It is like creation is still continuing from the artist even after his death.”

    OMG, that gave me chills! And I bet you’re right!

    Beautiful gravestone, Barbara. I have so enjoyed this tour! Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Hope you’re having a terrific Thursday!

    XO

  2. Hi Ronnie,

    This is a curious one, but I like the ones that are a change from the “run of the mill” gravestones.
    I actually cropped the guy because for whatever reason, his tush was all rubbed shiny(compared to his bronze colored face & body).
    Art perverts…
    You have a great Thursday too, hon. It was a pleasure to share with you & the world. xo

  3. So interesting to see al these differeent graves & hear the stories of those who lie beneath. Just catching up after marathon visit to Edinburgh & then Amiens! In the UK we don’t have such decorated tombstones – there may be some photos of the departed here & there, but generally the tombstone art is not present. It was good to see some of the original decorations on the tombs you visited.

    Joyce 🙂

  4. Hi Joyce,
    Bonjour! I know how busy life has been for you and your hubby.
    I think that you are enjoying some quiet now.

    Yes, the UK is more conventional when it comes to gravestones. I don’t know if it is the fact that these are often artistic or celebrities that makes for more originality.

    I don’t know but I enjoy some of the results. Vive la différence!

    Hugs from France x

Leave a Reply

