Mission basilica San Diego de Alcala

This was the first of 21 missions that were established throughout California by Spain in the 18th century.

The foundation of these quaint white churches were attempts to not only colonize what was then known as “alta California” or upper California, but also to Christianize the  native Indian population. A Franciscan friar named Junipero Serra founded San Diego de Alcala on the 16 July, 1769.The church as it is seen today would be the 5th to have been built on the same spot.

Then high era of the California missions ran from 1769 to 1833. After this time, the Mexican government shut down the missions.

The mission  San Diego de Alcala is used as a church and was in 1976 made a minor basilica by Pope Paul VI. It includes a visitor center museum.

Cousin Bill & I just took a scenic view of the grounds. Enjoy the quiet beauty of this special place:

Commemorating the first California martyr, Father Jayme, who died in 1775 after being attacked by the indigenous tribe members.

A brief history on a California registered historical landmark marker.

My favorite picture of this shooting. The orange aloe flowers just pops next to the intense blue of the sky.

Sincere Thanks again to Bill for showing me this special place.

8 thoughts on “Mission basilica San Diego de Alcala

    1. HI Bijoux,
      You are right; the white against the blue sky is an eyecatcher! I enjoyed working with the intense blue of the skies. A dream… If I could only be so lucky with such ops each time :).

    1. Hi Valerie,
      You are very welcome. My cousin Bill reminded me that it was an aloe plant. It was also the first time that I saw the flowers. I knew aloe in Hawaii, where it also grows wild. It is the best natural remedy for minor burns. You break off one of those fat pointy leaves, that are really filled with a sticky sap. Rubbing it on minor burns relieves the sting!
      Thank you again for coming back.

  1. FAAAAAAAAABULOUS photos, Barb!

    And Bijoux took the words right out of my mouth…I also love the white against the dark blue sky. Bellissima!

    “My favorite picture of this shooting. The orange aloe flowers just pops next to the intense blue of the sky.”

    Mine too! What a BRILLIANT capture! Love the sharp contrast of the flower against the blurred background. Way to go, Barb!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. Thoroughly enjoyed!

    Have a picture perfect weekend……XOXO

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Thank you! Isn’t it wondurful to have such a vibrant quality of colors and light? I rarely get this type of intensity of light near Paris(unless it is a very hot day). Each place is different ;
      It was a pleasure being at the mission and sharing this with everyone. I am happy to share.

      See you soon, dude. xo

  2. Oh, how beautiful is that last shot.
    I hope they allowed a wander about inside. I love churches and missions and cathedrals….they’re so inviting.

    1. Hi Mel!

      Thank you; that orange color was just screaming out “take me!”. Which I did!
      Yes, you can go and visit inside the museum. Bill & I just decided to wanter the premices and discover quietly. But, other people go inside and tour.
      I have to visit historical stuff each time; it’s a big attraction for me and churches are included 🙂

Leave a Reply

