Goodbye, dear San Diego

All good things do come to an end. Vacations are never an exception to this rule.

This trip to San Diego was wonderful and I was at a loss to know how to end the theme. Under the innocent airs of Margueritas, outings and our continuous merriment, it was all about good vibes. I do belong to my  clan, no doubt about it. Life gave me wonderful cousins and I love them.

I wanted to add a little bit of grace and old world romance for the last post. Something that speaks of adventure and discovery in a way that modern air travel knows little of. How boring to have sent you away from SD with rows of planes when I can sail away with this:

Introducing the Star of India. This beautiful vessel is moored right off of downtown San Diego.

Just gorgeous…


A brief history.

My favorite; the sun peeking from behind the prow. You can see that we were not at sunset yet. But, I loved the effect!

Ropes and sails and of course, and one last salute to my nation through the flag. I do love Old Glory. Fly it proudly.

Thanks to all who enjoyed this theme. You can imagine that going through these pictures was important for me also. I enjoyed every bit.

I will be back very soon with something  from another latitude 😉

13 thoughts on “Goodbye, dear San Diego

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      Same here; I have never done boating but, my eye is just attracted to old ships. I could wander for a long time, picking out all the cool details.

  1. I so LOVE how you said this, Barb……

    “I do belong to my clan, no doubt about it. Life gave me wonderful cousins and I love them.”

    ((((( You )))))

    GLORIOUS photos! They’re absolutely STUNNING! LOVE the sunset!

    And it’s so ironic that you shared photos of that beautiful ship/vessel, because earlier today I was down at Penn’s Landing and took some photos of the big ship (which looks very similar to this one) that sits along the dock.

    Thank you so much for sharing your trip with us, my friend.

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    XOXO

    1. Hey there Ronnie,
      Thank you,buddy. I trully do have a great clan. ((( Ronnie))). It was a very good for me to go.
      i am glad that you enjoyed the post. Once again, just cruising and enjoying the view, without going inside and knocking around a bit.
      That is strange that were both on the same wavelenght yesterday. I can see that tall ship at Penn’s landing in my mind. We photographed it! A real beauty.

      I am glad that you enjoyed SD… sure, I will take everyone over to the US the enxt time; Just pack lightly, OK? 🙂
      xo

  2. Ohhhhhh….I soooooooo love the tall ships. I mean seriously–we spent forever going through ship after ship. To just wander the deck and look up–amazing……
    And your photos are just awesome. The second one is gorgeous, but that first one–holy cow…..LOOK at those masts. 🙂

    1. Hi Mel,
      Ohhhh… that is also what tall ships inspire from me “Oooh” and “Aaaahh” moments. I am just sure that ship lovers can go ape in SD; there is lots to discover with Navy vessels too!
      Thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed sharing the best of the trip and I do have a bit in “stash” for the future 🙂
      Have a great day, dear lady 🙂

    1. Hello Valerie,
      This ship is a beauty! I have never taken a trip on any big ship. One day, I must take a modest cruise in Europe. No QEII for moi; that is way out of my budget.
      Thank you for your travel wishes.I have been safe in the home port on Dec 9 and doing well since. You take care, too.

  3. I love looking around old ships – there are several historic ones here in the UK to explore – so these photos made me quite envious of your farewell to San Diego shots.

    Pictures of this magnificent sailing ship reminded me of a saying: “A ship is safe in harbour, but that’s not what ships are for”. Travel well….!

    Joyce 🙂

    1. Hi Joyce,

      It is nice to see you here. I am sure that there are some lovely historical ships in the UK. I honestly think that you would love San Diego. Since you now have your children in Houston(note: Joyce’s son,DIL & granddaughter), what a wonderdul oppurtunity to explore the USA once again.
      I loved that saying; so true 🙂 Happy travel preps to you & Barry xo

  4. What terrific photos! I read a lot of historical (okay, mostly romance, too, lol) novels back in the day, and they usually have someone traveling on a ship like this. It’s so neat to see photos of one, and this makes me want to visit San Diego again. So many wonderful things there! (Including fish tacos, YUM).

    Safe travels to you & see you back in my neck of the woods soon. 🙂

    {hug}
    xx
    Karin

  5. Hi Karin,
    Welcome!! Thank you for your kind words. I love taking pictures; it has become my creative outlet since the last few years.San Diego is indeed a very special spot for me. It has the advantage of combining so many goodies-loving cousins,sunshine,great scenery,beaches etc etc.
    I will return in the future, for sure.

    Thank you for stpping by and hoping to see you again soon in Paree!!
    xox

Leave a Reply

