Get yourself exposed!

Blue Fig (Freeform shot taken in our garden)

I think that if we don’t adopt the concept of transformation into our daily lives, we will not got out the front door.

It is not very different for photography.

I went from being scared of our SLR camera( my husband took all the pictures several years back),then using it for a now defunct personal blog and finally, becoming a full-fledged hobby photographer.  With all my errors and ongoing apprenticeship, I will admit.

I know that I am no longer content with my old style of “point and shoot” that I had before the SLR.

Last week while googling “Photography”, I stumbled upon photography contests.
Humm…

I know very well that this is not the road from rags to riches, but it could be an excellent experience. You could win modest monetary prizes or photographic equipment. It is a chance to not only test the level of your best pictures but also to expose them.

Here is a non-exhaustive list to consider. Keep in mind that you need to pay to enter some contests, while others are free of charge.

http://www.photographycompetitions.net/

http://www.viewbug.com/

http://www.pictures2win.com/competitions/

No, I am not paid to plug these websites but do yourself a favor and look at some of the gorgeous work featured. I have no immediate plans of doing a contest now but, I am not excluding it in the future!

For all  readers of this blog:

If anyone has not yet heard about my photo giveaway, please click on this link: https://photodreamin.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/the-2020-photrize-giveaway/ You can have a chance to win one of the eight featured photos! Just leave a comment on any post until 20 February,2012.

Good luck!

10 thoughts on “Get yourself exposed!

  1. Hey there Barb!

    I love how you said this….

    “I think that if we don’t adopt the concept of transformation into our daily lives, we will not got out the front door.”

    Amen!

    And you’re right, it’s not any different when it comes to photography (or anything else we try new). If we don’t at least try, we’ll never transform or grow.

    Thanks a lot for sharing these links with us today, and I will definitely check them out. I can’t tell you how many times, by just looking at other images taken by skilled photographers, I’ve learned so much.

    LOVE your photo. It’s AWE-SOME!

    Have a terrific Tuesday……XOXO

    1. Hello Ronnie,
      You can believe me; the path of photography has been a good journey for me. I sincerely hope that it continues to take me to new paths and doscoveries.
      You are welcome for the links. You know, all it takes is one new item in your life. And it changes your day! I have no monopoly on anything; there are some creative people out there. I know that I am still learning!!

      Have a great day xo

  2. I enjoy taking photos, but I will admit that I have no interest in learning about the science behind it! I find the owners manuals to our cameras way beyond what I’m willing to sit down and learn. I’m lazy! I just want to focus and push a button!

    My boyfriend in high school was a photographer, who now do so professionally. It’s fun to look at his photos online and see how far he has come!

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      I still have to learn more in order to advance. That includes the basic knowledge. But, I don’t let me overcome the creative process. I understand that you want it easy!! Sometimes I do automatic mode; other times, I set the camera.
      How interesting to hear that your high school boyfriend is now in the big leagues of photography.
      Great!
      Have a great day 🙂

  3. Wow……. I’m definitely in the minor league with my point and shoot method. I checked out a link or two…….HOLY COW can folks really capture some awesome stuff.

    I’m content with the bits and pieces I do today. Now, that doesn’t mean I’ll stay content. LOL I get pushed a bit to do some growing and I tend to do some growing. For today, I’ll drool over other people’s work and watch from the sidelines. But don’t think I won’t be learning!

    1. Hi Mel,
      I am going to say we are where we feel the most comfotable. If YOU are happy with your work first and foremost, than that is fine. Maybe contests are not for everyone. It is fun just looking and learning from those contest entry galleries or even Flickr.
      Thanks for sharing and see you soon.

  4. Hello there Photo Dreamin! 🙂 Just checking in to say g’day and was incredibly wow’ed by your photo of the blue fig. It is beautiful. How exciting re moving from point and shoot to the SLR camera! You have a great eye and the soul that sees too 🙂 Can’t wait to see more of your photos with the ‘new’ camera. GOOD ON YA.

    Take care and cheers from across the Pond. xxoo C and C

  5. Hi Carolyn,
    It is very nice to see you on board! Thank you for your kind words once again. Going and “puttering” the lens in the garden is what I sometmes do when I do not have any travel plans.
    The blue and the veins of the leaf made me think of a “x-ray”, hence the play with the word exposure.
    Yes, that noodle is churning 🙂
    Hoping that we will cross paths in Paris in the coming months. Until then, keep happy & busy.
    All my best to Clive
    xo
    (COMMENTER N° 7 for the photo giveaway)

  6. Hi Barbara,

    I guess I’ve gone in the other direction. When I had a film camera I had all the bells and whistles. Now in the digital age I use point-and-shoot. Maybe because digital is more forgiving

    cheers!

    Michael

  7. Hi Michael,
    It is so nice to see you at my blog!(note: this gentleman and his wife are on a one year trip around the world.)
    Shoot and point refers not to tecnical stuff in my case, but the artistic side(I should have elaborated).
    I never used to consider things like compostion or the importance or color. Good luck! I am now taking the time to look before I shoot. And, the results are often much better!!

    Please stop by anytime and say Bonjour! BTW; commenting here has entered you in a photo giveaway on the 20 Feb. Happy trails!!

    ( COMMENTER N° 9 for the photo giveaway)..

Leave a Reply

