Blasts from the very distant past

I love these wooden houses. They are once again from our day trip in Beauvais, in Picardie, France.

You can sometimes find these very old wooden houses in some parts of France. They are doubly precious due to their age(these below are from the 1500s, except for one that is even older) and the fact that they escaped all the ravages of wars(including modern era wars). I am sure also that through the ages, restauration has helped to maintain them.

I tried some photo editing…

My favorite…

Did you see the cooking pot mounted on a pulley?

A small house that dates from 1410 and is the oldest house in this town!

I live outside of Paris and I have seen only two old authentic wooden homes in Paris( both are on the register of French historical sites). One of these days, I should get my camera downtown and take a few pics to show you these venerable Parisians…

Wishing my friends and everyone in cyberspace, a blessed Easter with your families.

12 thoughts on “Blasts from the very distant past

  1. Cool photos! I love these types of houses as well and saw a lot of great examples in Rouen. Aside from the two you mentioned in Paris (on rue François Miron), are you aware there’s a third one nearby, on the corner of rue des Barres and rue Grenier sur l’Eau? Admittedly its date of construction is debated by some historians, but many think it could be from around the same time as the other two. It now serves as a hostel. Worth checking out next time you’re in the area!

    1. Hi French Frye 🙂
      Welcome on board! I am glad that you enjoyed these photos.
      I understand your enthusiam for the old homes in Rouen. I have also seen and enjoyed these types of old homes. I have been to the François Miron home and the second one on rue Volta. Thank you so much for telling me about the third! Definately worth checking out.
      Stop by anytime to say Hi.

  2. Barbara, I adore these photos!

    *two very enthusiastic thumbs up*

    BEAU-TI- FUL!!!!!! And I love the soft and subtle photo edited you added. Also the colors are amazing!

    Yes, these old wooden homes are treasures, aren’t they? That first shot reminded me of the oldest street in Philly (Elfreth’s Alley), and the quaint little houses you see there. I remember the photos you shared last year, when you were visiting Quebec, and how similar it is to the architecture in France.

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Enjoyed!

    Happy Easter to you!!!!!

    XOXO

    1. Hi Ronnie,

      Thank you for your enthuisam and kind words. I already am much more partial to old stone than most modern structures(though, I can find modern buildings that I actually like).
      You know it well, buddy; photo editing can be tons of fun! It worked very well with these old homes. The photo with the blue shutters actually was ALREADY that bright blue. That was an excellent focal point 🙂
      We haven’t been ye to Elfreth’s alley(shame on us!). A must see, I know it. Yes, and Quebec city is very old. I love that place.

      Thanks again for stopping by and for your kind words.
      Happy Easter to you and your family.
      xox

  3. Happy Easter, Barb. 🙂

    I know one of the houses that is so old in Paris — been by there before, I’m pretty sure. We should go together! I’d like that.

    I love the photos you posted here, and what I always think when I am either in an old house or see one in photos like these is the saying, “If walls could talk!” Like you, I think it is amazing that they survived wars and other events in the modern age. It also makes me wonder what vestiges of life in the 21st century will be still in existence 600 years from now…

    Thanks for the journey to the past.
    Take care —
    Karin

  4. Hi Karin,
    A very Happy Easter to you, Paul and la famille 🙂
    Thank you so much. Oh yes; if those walls could tell about all they have seen and heard since 1500 on… Goodness!! These homes are survivors and lucky that they had people who cared enought to keep and restore them so we can admire their beauty today.

    You are very welcome for the post. I’ll have to e mail you. I got an idea for another outing ;)*
    You take care, too.

  5. I am also fascinated with these old houses! Through some asst. connections, I was able to get three photos of homes that my ancestors in Germany once lived in. They are all the half timbered style like your third photo. I was thrilled to receive them!

    Have a wonderful Easter, Barb!!!

  6. Hi Bijoux,
    Oooh, you are a bit of a Genealogy fan? Me too! Hence my fascination with anything from the past that show us how people lived.
    How wonderful that you could have copies of pics of your ancestor’s old homes in Germany.
    Would you possibly take the trip once in your life to live that experience in person? Never say never 🙂

    Happy Easter to you and your family.

    1. Hi Valerie,
      Ancient in structure but I would think modern in comfort inside! Those antenna are the old fashioned ones, used before France switched to digital TV. So, there are just usless “decoration” now!
      I have been in one of these old homes only once, when I ate in a restaurant that was in a half-timbered structure in Rouen, in Normandy… Huge beams running the whole lenght of the ceilings and winding stairs!

  7. Oh, how could you not stand in awe that the house is older than we are as a country!
    HOLY moly…….and it’s still standing!

    It gives me a sense of smallness and awe, quite frankly.
    Same sense I got with England’s ‘old’ houses.
    They’re just amazing–and it blows my mind that they’re still standing!

  8. Hi Mel,
    It’s nice to see you.
    Yes, it is quite amazing if you use the timefrrame of US History against that home from 1410… The USA was just one big wild continent, it’s indigenous American inhabitants.
    North America is a real babe in the whole scheme of civilisation…
    Yes, it is amazing that the houses have survived so long!

    Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

