A “romanchiku” moment

Say what? Ro-man-chick-you… what the heck?? You have no clue what I am talking about?!

In any case, the photo below looks like a dream:

Translation: Romanchiku means “romantic” in Japanese!

Of course, the word is borrowed from English and pronounced in their way. I remembered that word from somewhere (in a book, I believe).
Using a Japanese word to honor the lovely people in this photo. They were having their photo taken outside Ala Moana beach park and guess who just passed by? Yup!! These soon to be married people are most likely on a “wedding package”, featuring a real wedding in Hawaii and all that they would need for the occasion..

The Japanese find Hawaii to be a romantic place to be married. I won’t tell them otherwise!!

Have a great weekend and come back for more on Monday. Please scroll down and enjoy the photo gallery selection with some amazing shots using blur for an artistic effect.

10 thoughts on “A “romanchiku” moment

  1. Aloha Barb!

    Wow! This is a faaaaaaaaaabulous capture!

    *two thumbs up*

    It truly looks like something you would see on a magazine cover for “Wedding Style!”

    “The Japanese find Hawaii to be a romantic place to be married.”

    And I bet it is!

    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

    XOXO

    1. Aloha Ronnie,
      Thank you my dear. D & I were very excited when we walked by them. We each got to shoot them from a respectful distance. I can only imagine how the whole album looked.You are right; the setting and the romantic pose could have made a wedding mag!
      Thanks for coming and happy weekend to ya too.
      xo

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      Thank you! Yes, oh yes; go to Hawaii one day! Feeel the magic. I never have been to Alaska; I would welcome the chance.. The two last “babies” in the US family though very different in landscape,weather and culture.
      Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Awwwwww…….shoulda got their email to send it on! It’s awesome!!

    (and I’m hopeful the wedding and their happily ever afters are just as awesome)
    What a pretty photo.

    1. Hey Mel,
      That was a nice thought but the photo dude had things quite covered I think. It was a party of 4+; two lovebirds, photographer, and assistant who helped set them up,comb her hair and check make-up.Don’t forget the shiny white stretch limo and driver.

  3. I guess Hawaii isn’t too far either, relatively speaking!

    I love neologism, I read somewhere that Japanese have quite a lot. Chinese too use words borrowed from the English but they are much harder to recognized because of the pronunciation.

Leave a Reply

