An honor bestowed

I received a happy e-mail last night from one of my followers, haijin amin. I was informed that I was nominated for the one lovely blog award.

First off, my sincerest Thank you to Haijin. I was nominated by this poet and writer for the Lovely blog award. I am honored. and am happy to accept your nomination.

Haijin is a poet and writes poetry and text, especially a type of Japanese inspired poem called a “Haiku”. Such beautiful types of creativity remind me that art is full of remarkable expressions; He writes lovely poetry; she photographs, while yet a group of people do ballroom dance or hip hop. All are expressions of beauty and style.

I have two missions this morning, people. I have to nominate 15 deserving bloggers and… also, the nomination requires that I have to share 7 things about myself. On to the nominees. Of course, feel free to accept or even to (gently) decline. I know that some people choose not to not accept awards. Don’t worry about it ; I will understand.

My nominees for the Lovely blog award:

Anne in Oxfordshire

An Alien Parisienne

Brian Cooney’s photography blog

Bucket list publications

Caught my eye- a photo journal

Correr es mi destino

Fragile prints

Linda’s bead blog and meanderings

Mel’s dream

Musings from the burbs

My Sydney-Felixstowe-Paris life

Rodposse

The Moment

The world according to Mitzie Mee

Visions of the Phoenix park

I now have to tell you 7 things about myself… That is what Haijin did on his post and I will do likewise.

7 things about me. This is all quite random.

1) My first “grown up” camera was a Polaroid type camera. It was a gift from my parents for my high school graduation. Very limited tech wise but for the 18-year-old I was it was fun and funky!

2) I love dark chocolate and so does one of my friends and readers, Ron. Which why we did a  few moments of chocolate tasting when D & I met Ron in Philadelphia in 2008. Around a sinfully rich French chocolate gift. Oooohhh!!

3) I was born on the 9th day of the 9th month… But no, the year of my birth does not end in a 9.

4) My worst school classes had always been Math and Science. I remember 11th grade Chemistry; not only did I almost fail the class, I had a serious crush on my brainiac lab partner 🙂 .

5) I am what most the world calls of “mixed” ethnic heritage or what we call in Hawaii as being “hapa“(half) I love having a multiple ethnic culture.I am 1/4 Irish(and proud of it) and 1/4 Danish from my father;  1/2 Japanese from my mother.

6) I have a very old Saint Christopher medal (Catholic patron saint of travelers)  from Mission Santa Barbara, in California. It was given to me by my Grandmother when I left California(birthplace) to move to Hawaii. I have kept this medal all these years, and it has accompanied me on many a trip. It is inside my camera backpack with my Nikon.

7)  I started my first blog in 2006(now defunct) and Photo dreamin’ is my forth blog. I have no plans to do another one, because  one blog is quite enough!

I am looking forward to seeing my nominee’s posts and reading about their “7 things”.

Cheers to all!

21 thoughts on “An honor bestowed

  1. First, allow me to congratulate you on receiving this lovely award, Barb!

    Muchly deserved, my friend!

    And I loved reading your 7 things about you!

    “2) I love dark chocolate and so does one of my friends and readers, Ron. Which why we did a few moments of chocolate tasting when D & I met Ron in Philadelphia in 2008. Around a sinfully rich French chocolate gift. Oooohhh!!”

    And it was faaaaaaaabulous chocolate indeed!

    “4) My worst school classes had always been Math and Science.”

    Meeeeeeeeee too! OMG…I was the WORST at Math and Science 😦

    “3) I was born on the 9th day of the 9th month….”

    It’s funny, because I knew your date of birth, but didn’t realize it being the 9th day AND 9th month!?! How cool!

    And thank you so very much for adding me on your nomination list, I soooo appreciate it, but I no longer accept awards. But again, THANK YOU 🙂

    Have a wonderful day and weekend, Barb!

    (((( You ))))

    XOXO

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      First, Thank you for your wonderful support. You have been around in thick and thin. I remember sometimes when we were not very numerous in the comments and you always found your way here (((( Ronnie)))).
      I know that there are peple who prefer not to accept an award and I am fine with it.
      About my 7 things…
      N° 2- I know that I can always bring more chocolate to Philly. Always appreciated by Ronaldo 🙂
      Hey, by moi, too ;).
      N° 3- I was NOT the future member of the Medical careers club or the Math club. I did basic math and simple science and that was not always simple. Same in college!
      N° 4-And finally, that is me; 9 September. Remember, a Virgo. Yup; that is a cool repeat 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by my dear xo.

  2. Thank you, lovely xpat92! Loved reading your post
    We are fine, just busy and need to get back to blogging soon. In the meantime, cheers to you and thank you again.
    Hugs from across the Pond. xxoo

    1. Hello Carolyn,
      It was my pleasure, big pond neighbor ;).
      Wishing you a happy and busy summer and try and find time to enjoy.
      xox to you & to C.

  3. OH!! I can PLAY!!!!!

    I’m honoured. I don’t zackly know what to DO with it, but I’m honoured.
    So I’ll just play! That’ll be fun!

    Seven, huh?
    Hmmmmm…..I’ve been posting on that web log for a chunk of time. LOL I’m thinking I’ll be hard pressed to come up with seven, but……I’ll have fun trying!
    Thank you, thank you!
    Now, I wanna visit the nominator!

    *waving* Glorious Monday to you, ma’am!! Tuesday for you I’m guessing.
    No worries…….LOL…..we’ll catch up! 😉

    1. Hey there Mel,
      You are very welcome. In the words of my San Diego cousins ‘ It’s Easy-Peasy” :
      1) Do a post about your award. Find 15 lovely blogs and include their links in your post. Do forget to stick in the award badge.
      2) Just “let ‘er rip” and do a fun game called “7 things about me”. Surprise us!
      And voilà…

      **Waving back towards the Midwest** have a positive day my dear.
      xo

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      You are very welcome. I knew that you were busy but still wanted to nominate you. It can be your turn when you are settled in to your new home. Cheers!

    1. Hi Mitzie,
      Yes indeed, Viking blood runs through my veins :). Though I know next to nothing from what part of Denmark my ancestors lived. Their family name is HANSEN, which is quite a common name. One day, I will learn all about this :).

  4. Thank you! That’s a lovely “lovely award” 🙂

    I have always found your ethnic background fascinating, I like the mix of cultures!

    1. Salut Zhu,
      You are so welcome. Yes, I also like the design of it.
      I am glad if I could stir more good feelings towards my racial background than the more negative type of human reaction. If you have kids one day, your’s will be beautiful with Feng’s Chinese background. I just know it ;). Vive la différence!

    1. Hi Dave,
      You are very welcome. Eire seen in photos never ceases to make me smile.. And, your bit of it is particuarly beautiful! When I vist Ireland, I must visit Phoenix park in Dublin. Oh yes…
      Cheers! Very well deserved.

  5. Hi Karin,
    It’s nice to see ya!! You are so welcome. Feel free to answer whenever you have time. It’s summer and everyone has their little projects going on.
    A little wink towards you & your blog and have fun discovering the other nominees!
    Bye for now, dear.
    xox

Leave a Reply

