Oooooh Canada!

This post is to share a bit of happy news. On 8 September, D and I will be traveling  the across  the big pond to travel in Canada for two weeks!  We will be in Montreal and Quebec city, plus a smaller city on the road to see a friend. The new destination that we are adding this time is in the  province next door to Quebec, New Brunswick.

I do enjoy trips into Montreal, with all its sights. But, I  love the old stones and steep streets of Quebec city. If I could live in either, it would be in the second one. These are two of D’s photos from a past trip to Quebec province in 2009.

The Montreal city skyline as seen from Mont Royal park.

That so iconic symbol of Quebec city, the Château Frontenac (a world-class hotel).

New Brunswick will be new for both of us, but we will be want to explore the coastline, beaches and little towns. D has a fascination with the History and culture of the Acadian coast which is a French-speaking part of New Brunswick.

I am hoping for lots of photo ops and new chances for creativity!  My creativity has grown by leaps and bounds since the 2009 trip (when D took all the photos). As we did in Hawaii, we will each be shooting photos and my goal is to do a little better each time. But of course, no pressure. It will be a time to relax and just do what we like.

Stay tuned…

Cheers to all!

15 thoughts on “Oooooh Canada!

  1. Bonjour Barbara .. NO pressure 🙂 .. You are going to enjoy, relax and meet a friend .. and maybe make new ones too. .. You are sooooo creative and doing so well with your photography , keep up the good work .. ENJOY each day xx

    1. Hi Anne,
      It was so fun chatting with you yesterday. Oh yes; it will be grand. We will keep it nice and easy and keep fun a priority and why no greet a few new friends in our life. While we already have been to the two big cities in Quebec province, we want to stry and experience it differently each time.And when a destination is new, it is like a piece of candy to unwrap 🙂

      You enjoy each day also and be positive and happy.
      xox

  2. Oh, how exciting Barb!!! I am soooooooo happy for you and D!

    Gosh, before you know it….Sept. 8th will be here. And two weeks is a great time to go because you can just take your time and enjoy the sights.

    I remember when you shared photos of your trip to Quebec back in 2009, and couldn’t get over how much it reminded me of images of France! What a lovely place Quebec looks like.

    Looking forward to more photos. And what a great chance to practice all your new photography skills!

    Have a great Wednesday, my friend!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hey there Ronnie,
      Thank you! (((((Ron))))))). I just know it; these next weeks will fly. I have been cleaning house and gardening already, so I just have to add packing and travel preps.

      You already have had a preview of Quebec city and yes, it is so inspired by France and old French architecture. I just love this place, with it’s lower and higher cities, stone buildings and small streets.
      I will be trying my best in manual mode to capture what I feel and see. I have been practicing at home in my spare time and try and to take the Nikon out now and then.

      Thanks for stopping by and see you on your blog.
      xox down to ya in Philly!

  3. What an exciting trip that will be, Barbara!! Thank you for sharing these photos of D’s. It looks like an incredible place, and I look forward to seeing more of your pics! 🙂 Oh, and I know nothing about NB, so I will be very curious to see pics of that place!

    After two weeks, I am finally emerging a little bit from under the jet lag and cleaning projects here in Denver. Things are still very complicated here, and growing more complicated, unfortunately, but some things have also settled in nicely. Just trying to keep my chin up. 🙂 I’m here in my room, having some coffee this morning, my time, and enjoying catching up on your beautiful work. Thank you!

    Much love,
    Karin

    1. Hey Karin,
      Thank you for coming. Yay!! Girlfriends sending their good thoughts across to each other. I thought of you more than once these past weeks.
      I am so glad that things are getting on track for you. Yes, build your base up from SQUARE ONE. I know, family is always complicated. But, believe in you and your power to do and to advance. These are times of change and of excitement also because you are starting over.

      Please return when you have the time. We will be happy to take you vicariously through Quebec & NB. With pleasure 🙂

      Take care & stay in touch.
      Loving thoughts xoxo

  4. Oh cool! Fall (well, late summer really, doesn’t feel like fall yet in September!) is such a great season in Canada!

    I have been to Montreal many times but only once to Quebec City (in the middle of the winter… very picturesque!) and I have never visited NB. I hope to see pictures!

    If you are close to Ottawa, don’t hesitate to contact me! I just came back from traveling so I won’t be able to meet you outside the city 😦 (i.e. like in Montreal) but I’m around if you need advice!

    1. Hi Zhu,
      Yes, this is our current project! We are happy to return to Canada since our last trip in 2009. It feels a bit weird remembering 2009 because I still had my old blog and was only photographing occasionally on trips. NB will be exciting and it will be pleasant returning to Quebec.

      I am afraid that we don’t have time to go to Ottawa. We have two “tightly packed” weeks between QC & NB. One of these days, we must go towards Gatineau & ONT. Never say naver.
      Have a great day!

    1. Hi Dave,
      It’s great to see you here, my friend.
      Ah come on; anyone can save up for it and then do it. You also! Oh yes; I want to take tons of photos,esp of nature,shorelines and also some of cities. Hoping that the foliage will be starting to turn orange and yellow; Indian summer!!
      I am looking forward to seeing you.
      Cheers! 🙂

  5. Ohhhhhh..lucky youse guys! Another adventure! Another opportunity to post his and her photos!! And time to just breathe and be……

    And at the start of fall like weather, as well. Quebec is awesome through and through. I’m so glad for the two of you to get time with friends–no obligation time is such a refreshing experience!

    1. Hi Mel,
      I would have taken an extra suitcase to fit you in but, that is a tight squeeze!! LOL!
      Oh yes; his and her pics. It is going to be a tradition soon on this blog. I feel it in me bones 🙂
      The last time we went was in September 2009 and the weather was warm. The trees had begun to show their lovely autumn hues. I really love this time of year.

      We just want to do “R&R”. Just having fun,taking pics,and cruising around.
      See ya soon dear lady xo

  6. Hi Joyce,
    It is nice to see you. Wow; I would love to experience Iceland one day. You have been busy!!
    In a few weeks, it will be my turn. Such is the way between travel lovers 😉

    Take care x

Leave a Reply

