Waterfalls

We took a nice excursion to Saint Ursula falls to enjoy some of the breathtaking natural scenery that Quebec is famous for. We are in the Mauricie region, once again in Central Quebec. This  would be our last visit to Central Quebec which was also spent with a friend.

I was expecting more water and more falls but, it appears that the summer had been a dry one. The water levels were way down.

I am not one to look a gift horse in the mouth… It was all lovely under the sun and with the golden colors starting to peek through the foliage.
Just on a side note, rocks( like the ones in the photos) can be a very cool element in nature or coastal photography. They make a great focal element in a photo. I was able to use driftwood to the same effect in NB.

Enjoy… I will be looking again in D’s pics soon and preparing New Brunswick.

Happy day to all.

8 thoughts on “Waterfalls

  1. *three VERY loud cheers*

    Faaaaaaaaaabulous shots, Barb! Holy cow…what stunning views! I know how challenging it is to photograph moving water and you did a stellar job!

    “, rocks( like the ones in the photos) can be a very cool element in nature or coastal photography. They make a great focal element in a photo. ”

    I adore the element of rocks because they contain energy. For me, there is something both strong, yet calming about actually holding a rock in my hand. I feel the same way about the element of water. Therefore, when you put rocks and water together, they’re a powerhouse of energy!

    Quebec looks so beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Oh my goodness, someone please restrain the gentleman – L-O-L!!!) No seriously, Thank you a bunch. I had less of a choice for the running water because… less of it was there. It was a good exercise; I had blaring sun and dark shadows under the trees.
      You are so correct about rocks having energy. Some people keep rocks that are reputed for their particular qualities.A very good friend of mine gave me a rose quartz which symbolizes friendship.
      I love the enrgy of the rocks and the water. It sizzles!! 🙂
      xo to Philly.

  2. Spoken like a true lover of railroads…….LOOK at that bridge! Holy cow……can you imagine the iron horses going over that sucker with NO room to squiggle?!

    Okay, okay……the water is cool, at any level. And the rocks make the whole photo. You’ve done well at getting that balance with shadows and light and moving waters.
    But WOW look at that bridge! *laughing* Yes, yes…….focus–we’re talking water/rocks/trees.
    But look at that BRIDGE!!!! LOL

    1. Hi Mel,
      I am glad that you found some extra eye candy ;). That is for an old railroad route and I agree that there is not much wiggle room up there.
      I am happy also that you loved the rocks and water but, the bridge was the star of the day.
      Aren’t you glad that the bridge caught my eye, too?
      It was my pleasure.

  3. Yes, this summer was amazingly dry. I don’t think it rained at all in July in Ottawa, which is rare! That would explain the low water levels. Nice pictures though!

    1. Hi Zhu,
      You know very well. I have heard about the dry summer and now could see this in the rivers.
      Thanks for your kind words. I am trying to take rocks and make something nice out of it.
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

