The great upheaval

These photos are of a monument at the Sainte Anne du Bocage sanctuary at Caraquet. The monument of the Great Upheaval/ Le Grand Dérangement.

To speak about this region of Canada which is also called “Acadia”( from the word Arcadia or idyllic place) is to know what the great upheaval was. In brief, this happened in 1755 when the Acadians ( French-speaking Catholic residents of the Eastern Maritimes) were kicked out of their homelands by the English.

You can read the brief History and the deportation chart in the photos. You get a quick feeling for the uprooting of these poor people. The Acadians were sent to many places in the world. Families were separated, people died during the long boat trips and they were all forced to live in places far from their homelands. A sad chapter in the History of Canada and of the world.

6 thoughts on “The great upheaval

  1. Hi Bijoux,
    I am pleased if I could relay this tidbit of History. I think that you may be in the New England area. Quite a few Acadians settled there, as well as people from Quebec too. I do think too that is the same Acadia. Perhapas park area had a large Acadian population and they wanted to comemorate this heritage? Very pretty name in any case.

  2. WOW…both interesting photos AND read, Barb!

    I had no idea about his history, so thank you for sharing it.

    ” The Acadians were sent to many places in the world. Families were separated, people died during the long boat trips and they were all forced to live in places far from their homelands.”

    Yes, sad indeed.

    Great post, Barb!

    X

  3. Hi Ronnie,
    You are so welcome for both the photos and the History lesson. I think that Canadians may have learned this in school History lessons but, I think not so for Americans.
    I learned this through D because he has a distant branch in his family related to an Acadian family that was deported to France.

    I am glad that you liked it, buddy.
    xox

  4. Well–sheesh….. DARN GOOD THING WE WON THE FLIPPING WAR.

    Excuse me while I poke he-who-separated-families and tell him that wasn’t NICE. (poor fella gets blamed for all things English……LOL)

    Seriously……what a horrible answer they executed. Like there weren’t more choices?
    Somber monument–I appreciate the bit of history lesson here.

  5. Hey there Mel,
    Yes, the British are at it again… I was laughing this morning.You perked me up!!
    Poor fellow. You are from the “new generation” of English that never would have perpretrated such horrors…
    The great upheaval is heavy stuff… I can really relate. I am 1/4 Irish (and like with as all the immigrant descendants of this people) the Potato famine hovering above our family tree.

Leave a Reply

