Beautiful coincidence

I was saving this nice story for later in my Canada series…

D and I had spent a whole day traveling from Caraquet, NB to Quebec. We dodged road construction bottlenecks, rain and fatigue. At the day’s end we called it a day in a city called “Rivière du Loup”, at about 2-3 hrs from Quebec city.

Something had caught my eye on a neighboring car when we parked our car at a hotel. But, we had a lot to do including registration and hauling bags. Once everything was done I wanted to go back outside. But when we finally got to our car, the neighboring car had left.

But, how happy I was the next day to find it!

A Hawaiian sticker. It was a honu or a Hawaiian turtle showing the Hawaiian islands in its belly. I was not insensitive to that.. If you don’t know me, I was raised in Hawaii and live far away in France since many years. So, this was a significant find for me.

Honu is considered in Hawaiian legend a guardian spirit or “Aumakua”.  An aumakua is like an ancestor that would take the shape of an animal. A good sign.  I felt wonderful finding it.

Next to our rental car.

Seriously, out of the hundreds of thousands of cars driving in Quebec, what were our chances of finding one with a Hawaiian symbol? I don’t even want to try and calculate that one…

I know that it was meant to be.

I am protected and loved.

15 thoughts on “Beautiful coincidence

  1. I love to hear about such coincidences. Have a good weekend and thanks for your recent comments on my photography blog,

  2. Hi LindyLou,
    I do believe in these coincidences. I look on them as signs that all is well and we are being looked over. You are very welcome for my visits to your blog. I will gladly return!

  3. I wouldn’t have associated it with Hawaii, although it makes sense with your explanation! I also believe in little signs… and I’m sure this one was a good omen!

    1. Hi Zhu,
      That is correct, when you see the meaning behind a symbol, you go “ahhh!”. My belief in little signs or familiar coincidences is like a wink from above(provided one is spiritual). Thank you; I do believe that the honu was a good omen, too!

      The day before putting flowers on my in-law’s grave on “la Toussaint”( All saint’s day), there was a display in front of the floral shop. There was a crate that had “1928” stamped on it That is my late FIL’s birth year.
      Some people will say “luck”, “chance”, I say it was a wink… 😉
      Bises.

  4. Hi Bij,
    Yes, a wink! An author that I heard on a radio show called them “cowinkydinks”, (which makes me smile each time I say it).
    It is a very nice sign to find a familiar object,symbol or even form when you are not at home. A reassuring wink, indeed!

  5. Awwww….I like the wink analogy–cuz I’m not a believer in coincidences. I believe all things happen for reasons, even if I’m not privy to them at the time. Things like this are just reminders to me that I’m very well loved and cared for. Sounds like it speaks the same message to you.

    How awesome and warming that moment must have been. 🙂

    1. Hi Mel,
      I also believe that things happen for a reason. I think that we are not always in the right state of mind or even paying attention every time. But at times, they are so HUGE that you can’t ignore them! Yes! They are telling us that all is well and I am sending you some love.

      I felt like I just got a huge hug when I discovered the sticker- esp when the car came right back next to our’s the next day. YAY!!
      X to you, too.

    1. Hi Karin,
      You are so very welcome, my dear. Nothing is ever as black or white as it seems. Those who love us will always make sure that we know it.
      You are very welcome, hon. Take care of yourself and stay warm.
      xo

  6. Looooooooooooooove this post, Barb!

    It put a HUGE smile on my face and heart.

    I definitely believe in signs/ coincidences, which are really not coincidences because I think they were meant to be a sign. Or has Bijoux, shared….God Winks!

    “I know that it was meant to be.

    I am protected and loved.”

    You certainly are, my friend!

    ((((((( You )))))))

    XOXOX

  7. Ronnie,
    Awwh; I am so glad if I made a warm and fuzzy feeling and with a smile, please. You are so welcome.
    Yes, God winks. Open your eyes to messages of love and support. They are everywhere if you look.

    xoxo with lots of love.

  8. Bonjour mon amie … Wow as you say what are the odds on that happening …and finding it the next day too !! .. It was definitely meant to be 🙂 …. I read that you met up with Jennifer and had a lovely time at our favourite cafe/resturant 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

