Friday photo post- Why you should remember the egg

You read it right in my first weekly photo challenge entitled “Resolved”. I am resolved to improve how I work with light in 2013.

I am a brave soul.

The subject of light in Photography is the bottomless pit. I know that I will just scratch the surface in one year .

To have some fun and hopefully learn in the process, I found website that had a very neat video. Enter stage center a humble egg. It is there to teach us how light works in Photography. You have to see to believe; click on the you tube link below!

http://youtu.be/qM7CcUrUD2g

You can find the complete article on the egg experiment on the top right hand sidebar (entitled “ A PHOTOGRAPHY POST TO READ“). In case you are new here, I change the links there every Friday.

Everyone can do this experiment using an egg and a lightbulb/ lamp. And don’t forget a wad of modeling clay to make the egg stand up!

If you are motivated, give it a try.  Doing is learning and I will be doing it.

This looks like a fun rainy/snowy day experiment and if you have kids/grandkids, include them for additional fun!

Let me know if you try it!  Happy TGIF &  happy weekend!

P.S.- I am expecting the next “Weekly photo challenge” today. I shall be attacking that in the coming week.

9 thoughts on “Friday photo post- Why you should remember the egg

  1. *chuckling* Over easy, is my preference! Though I have enjoyed poached lately.

    Brilliant video–and I think I get the tip of the iceberg of what he’s saying and illustrating. I wanna SEE what you come up with, brave soul. And IF I can feel okay with having an egg, a light and some clay rounded up for me, I might even haffta try this one myself.

    And this is why I enjoy and appreciate the folks who do that ‘shadow shot’ deal. I rarely see shadows and capturing them deliberately isn’t something I readily do. When folks share their shots, I find myself looking for the shadows when I’m out and about. But I think there’s so much to SEE in the lens that I’ll have to choose and I don’t wanna! LOL Back to that, ‘I’ll miss something’ while I’m choosing and fiddling. Which happens anyways, huh?
    Perhaps that’s the way it’s suppose to be? Maybe that’s a bit of what keeps ‘being behind the lens’ such a treat for me?
    Even if I’ve ‘been to this place a bazillion times’ there’s something new and different each and every time.

    1. Hey Mel,
      I am easy; scrambled,sunny side up and once in awhile, poached. 🙂
      I think that this video is simple but PHENOMINAL!
      Really; I understand feeling “busy” behind the lens. So much to see and choose, so little space!
      Unless the shot is really really hurried, I take a moment to walk around and study. Or when I know my area where I shoot, coming on a day “sans” Nikon, just as an observer, to see what tickles my fancy.

      Photography is a hoot because it is never the same and yes, even if you return to the same spot everyday, it will be like a new beginning each time.

      Hugs, my friend. xox

  2. Salut Zhu,
    I got pretty excited seeing this video! I felt like a kid in science class!! Merci Zhu; je suis dans la quête du “gral sacré” et j’ai toute l’année de piocher et trouver quelques surprises 🙂
    I said to Zhu that I have the whole year in the search of the “holy grail” that is light…

    Bises xo

  3. A very good lesson! I’ve always found it difficult to take photos in bright sunlight and especially when trying to shoot people……the balance of some sun, but not too much sun. Difficult to achieve!

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      How are ya? I am glad that you enjoyed. This is so easy that everyone can enjoy. Yes, bright sunlight is just a challenge as not enought light! The balance is delicate… Another challenge for me is interiors… Well, the year is just starting! 🙂

  4. Barb….I LOVED! LOVED! LOVED the video clip!

    And the face that he drew on the egg was so CUTE!!!

    Ah yes, lighting, it’s such a challenge, isn’t it? But it’s videos such as this that help to make it more understandable.

    Also, I saw a few other interesting-looking photography video clips on the sidebar of the YouTube you shared. That’s what I love about YouTube, you go over to research one thing, but then discover so many more topics. I get lost over there sometimes.

    Thanks so much for sharing, my friend. Really enjoyed it!

    Have a great weekend!

    (((((( You )))))

    X to you and D!

    P.S. btw, I just discovered an awesome photographer here in Philly. He has a booth set up in the Reading Terminal, where he sells his photographs. His work is BRILLIANT!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      I jumped at the chance to show the link because a theory so well explained yet so simple is RARE!
      You are absolutely right; go and see one video and there are tons of suggestions. I usually avoid going often to YT because of the time we can all kill there!! Photography tutorials abound as well as a second subject that had attracted me since last month, makeup tips!
      Those last links I will not share here 😉

      Big hugs, sweetie xox

  5. P.S. I forgot. not ordering, mind you but what awesome post that would make with the photo booth at Reading terminal! That sounds like an interesting visit. Quick; Calgon take me away.. to Philly!!
    X

Leave a Reply

