Under the light tent

Here’s what a first experiment with a light tent gives. These are objects brought from our trips:

DSC_0766

A nutcracker Christmas ornament from Quebec city(with Quebec colors). Behind, a souvenir copy of the Declaration of Independence bought in Philly!

DSC_0724

One of my Nan Nan’s plates. I put it on a Santa hat to try to get a better result. It was iffy going with the light colors (I think that may have needed a stronger lighting for this type of subject).

For the anecdote, this plate, a second plate and a creamer were given to my by one of my cousins. These precious objects(that were all owner by my paternal Grandmother)were carried in a backpack through a Greyhound bus from San Diego to San Francisco, then in the plane all the way to France.

<
DSC_0781
Detail on Nan Nan’s plate, one of Nan Nan’s table napkins( I brought it home from my Mom’s house) &amp my pineapple butter knife bought in Hawaii many moons ago.

The caption ( “Speak for yourself, John” makes me laugh. Depicting John &amp Priscilla Alden of colonial America fame. But, John is also my father’s name!

DSC_0784

The lens was probably the most costly souvenir. This is a Sigma macro lens that D bought in San Francisco .
I’ll get techy: It is a 70-300 mm, f 4-5.6. I still have to learn how to use it; consider this a bucket project.

The bracelet on top is obviously not D’s- It is a Plumeria costume bracelet from our Hawaii trip.

Then, there are food items and housewares:

DSC_0789

You can see an oven mit from San Francisco, goat’s milk soap bar, maple lollypop and maple mustard( just to try something unusual). We put a dab in our vinagrette.

It was an intense experience working with the light tent. Very worthwhile trying. The most delicate exercise was the lighting. I was moving the lamps nearer  or further. I found that backlighting the objects often gave a nice result. I used 1/10 sec, with f 4-5 and low ISO ( I found 200 good).

I love how this dude came out on the light tent. Take a bow, Monsieur:

DSC_0727

Have a good day, everyone!

12 thoughts on “Under the light tent

  1. Oh boy…….. Since I don’t know what I’m looking for….LOL…..I have no idea what I’m looking for! (I’m sure that makes sense….LOL)
    But WOW on the last photo cuz he’s just too cute. And I think the plate with the pineapple knife is my favorite one, though the lens with the pretty bracelet comes in a close second (not sure why D wouldn’t snag that–it’s a cutie! LOL)

    You’re a patient soul, that much is obvious. I’d set the things in one place and wait for the light to find me. *laughing* I’m guessing that’s a part of the objective for the tent and the lamps?
    Wild guess….cuz I really have no clue what I’m looking for!
    Which means I should just shush and enjoy the view! LOLOL

    1. Hey Mel! (waving from outside the tent!)
      How are you, dear? Now, you can be honest to say that the tech stuff is above you. I am honest to say that I am learning! I just know a smidge! And above all, I am trying.

      I think that to observe and enjoy is already plenty. Thank you, dear lady.
      Most of the time, I would place an object, photograph, replace an object,etc. Sometimes going to the laptop, seeing and at times re-doing.
      Infinite patience…

      I actually prefer “hands on” outside assignments , being outdoors in places. But… to learn is to shed your skin,squirm and take a ride through the “uncomfort” zone.

      Big hugs to you xox

  2. Barb, this was so interesting and fascinating to see and read!

    Well done, my friend!

    “Behind, a souvenir copy of the Declaration of Independence bought in Philly!”

    Oh, how COOL is that!!!

    Love all these photos, especially the ones of the Nutcracker dude!!!!

    “The lens was probably the mostly costly souvenir. ”

    That’s okay my friend, because it was a wise investment in learning more about photography.

    Thanks so much for sharing your learning, because “I” as you learn!

    ((((((( You ))))))

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      How are you doing, my friend. Aren’t we all freezing right now? Same here!
      Thank you, my dear. It was an ambitious assignment. The light is indirect and more muted. If you had a lamp in there, you would have shadows and blinding light. The fabric is thin and lets the light to be absorbed.

      I am glad that you enjoyed… You could see that plate that my Philadelphian Nan Nan once owned. And yes, a true “faux” copy of the Declaration of Independence!!

      It was intense yet fun. Maybe I’ll try it in the future and compare results 🙂
      Have an awesome weekend, darlin’.
      xox

      xox

    1. Hi Zhu,
      Thank you. Well if an English made plate can look French, why not(it is now in France, of course). I can see it; plates on the wall “à la Française” or zvzn on a hutch. You know what they say about taking the girl out of France… still in you a bit, la France!

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      Thank you! It looked so incredibly upbeat and cozy that I grabbed it somewhere near Pier 43!
      Yes, nutcracker dude had high scores. I think the light tent did hime good.
      Cheers & happy weekend!

    1. Hi Mitzie,
      Thank you!! It was fun but I to do little tiny adjustments along the way ( reposition a lamp, turn a figure, add color, etc). Well worth discovering if you ever want to photograph small objects( including items to sell online).

      Happy weekend! 🙂

  3. Wow Barbara, how well you are doing with your photography, I love the plates , my favourite is the little Pineapple Butter knife .. and how amazing that the precious plates and creamer made it safely all the way to France .. I am not sure what a light tent is .. but I am sure I will find out 🙂 big hugs Anne xoxo

    1. Hello Annie Paris aka Anne!
      I read this name on my e-mail inbox and said “This has to be Anne”. Ta da…
      Thank you so much. I think that you missed the preceeding post where I showed the light tent with the two lamps. It is just a collapsable polyester tent to photograph small objects under.
      OMG… That was one long haul for the plates and creamer. We had these on our backs a whole day before arriving in SF and then throughout airports and even on the RER once arrived. Nan Nan must have been smiling from heaven. 🙂

      XOX

Leave a Reply

