Weekly photo challenge: Forward

DSC_1146

DSC_1134

I was at a loss on how to interpret this week’s theme. Then, Mother nature gave me a helping hand. When I woke up this morning, there was a delicate coat of “powdered sugar” snow on the ground.

Despite the early hour on a Sunday morning, this snow was already disturbed by the marks made by human activity. Before I went to sweep away the snow, I first took the Nikon and looked around me. I saw the tracks everywhere and I thought that to be human is about moving forward everyday. No matter what conditions and one’s eventual moods…
Those people who made those marks had to go out and just do it… maybe they needed to do grocery shopping or perhaps go to work.
All was done for survival. We are programmed for survival in our genes.

Yes, we can fall, break down, crash or falter. It happens to all of us. But sooner or later, each of us starts the journey on the road once more.

Enjoy and have a happy week.

20 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Forward

  1. I just went for a walk outside and I was looking at the footsteps and tire marks in the light snow, thinking it was quite picturesque. And there you go, you took these shots for me! 😆 Les grands esprits se rencontrent…?

  2. Barb, I absolutely love the way you interpreted this theme!

    “I saw the tracks everywhere and I thought that to be human is about moving forward everyday. No matter what conditions and one’s eventual moods…”

    Brava! And you are so spot on about that. Life is not static, it’s meant to move forward because that’s how we grow.

    “Yes, we can fall, break down, crash or falter. It happens to all of us. But sooner or later, each of us starts the journey on the road once more.”

    Amen! And take with us the challenges we experienced prior; using them as learning tools.

    Beeeeeautiful images! Love that you shot them in black and white 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this post, my friend! Really enjoyed!

    ((((((( You )))))))

    X to you and D!

    1. Hey there Ronnie,
      Thank you! This was one of the tougher challenges for me. It was rather refreshing how I got my answer from Mother nature.
      This brings us back to who we are as human beings… basic nature and needs.
      I could only see b&w for this snow scene. So minimal and perfect for snow. Just a foot note: I can’t shot on b&w with me older Nikon. I have to edit after…

      Warm hugs to ya down to Philly xox

  3. Barb, you captured the weekly theme in the most special way. That little arrow and snow footprints really says “forward”. You are right when you said “We are programmed for survival in our genes.” There may be times when life hits us low, but the magic of holding on is part of being humane.

    Have a happy and inspiring day to you dear friend :)♥ Istar

    1. Hi Joycelyn,
      It is nice to see you again. Many hearfelt Thanks. Nature inspires me very often. Yesterday was no except. I was “subjugated” by the marks going forward.
      Sometimes, we hit low before getting up and rising either higher than we were. And we can learn so much.
      See you this week. 🙂

    1. Hi Maggie,
      Thank you for coming by my blog.
      I love the tracks in the snow also! There were more this morning but I had no time to photograph. I still enjoyed with my eyes in passing.
      Cheers!

  4. WOW.
    Seriously. I opened the page and was ” wow-ing” before I even got to the explanation. Amazing factor increased for me with them shot in black and white. It seems my whole world turns that way with a fresh dusting and a gray day…and I whine. LOL. But gimme a great black and white photo…and I’m drooling. Makes no , but there ya have it. They’re both good shots and captured the theme well.
    And thank goodness forward happens with/without my permission!

    1. Hi Mel,
      (____) Part where I take a humble bow. Thank you,my friend.
      When I see snow, I almost always have b&w on my mind. I think that the great ammount of white has something to do with it. Then, a very long time again, my Dad had an b&w art print that was b&w minimalist; a tree in a vast plain of white with a foggy faint view of skyscapers…

      You see; art in the home influences young minds:).

      Thank you for your kind words; it was (so far) the theme that stumped me the most.
      xox

    1. Hi Peter,
      It is so nice to have you over.
      Thank you so much. I enjoyed making b&w scenes of this snowy day.
      Snow always feels to me like b&w photos 🙂 I feel this more than color though I am open to new experiences to show me otherwise!
      Have a great day!

    1. Hi Bij,
      Thank you so much, hon! It was surprising to be inspired to this point by a snowfall but, nature someimes does that to me.
      I would have loved to see wild animal tracks 🙂

    1. Bonjour Anne,
      Thank you for your gentle words. I enjoy creating and sometimes I am truly inspired when I look at something. Other times, it is just a relaxed moment.
      Hoping that you are well. Big hugs down to Oxford. xox

    1. Bonjour Seth,
      It’s nice to see you “chez moi”. Thank you, my friend. My inspiration came from off the street this time!
      Oui, revenez en France une prochaine fois avec Todd :).

Leave a Reply

