Weekly photo challenge: lunchtime

This is a classic French dish called “Hachis Parmentier, made of ground meat and mashed potatoes mixed together, seasoned and baked in the oven. It is crunchy and has both the taste of good mashed potatoes and meat.

This was accompanied by a fresh “oak leaf” lettuce with various goodies, without dressing. The glass was filled with pink “Crément de Bourgogne”, a bubbly aperitif drink that we had before our lunch.

Simple and hearty…

IMG_1284

This was taken before our Sunday lunchtime today, once again , photos taken with D’s iphone.

IMG_1277-002

Have a good week, everyone.

16 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: lunchtime

  1. Barb, not only does this dish look delicious, but your presentation makes it look even MORE delicious!

    “Simple and hearty…”

    Yup…that’s I like my food.

    Great shots! They look like they could be in a cooking magazine!

    Well done, my friend. Well done!

    Have a great week!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      If you come to Parée one day, I just may serve this to you :). Thank you for your kind words. I know that being a dude, you like fellow commenter Andrew would like a bigger piece. No problemo!
      See you very son xoxo

    1. Hi Bij,
      Helping sizes are always personal. This was a small one but a nice size for a photo. I think that a small size is more photogenic… though, I did eat two small squares of it yesterday. Ha!
      See ya!

  2. Now see…’zackly the portion I’d like. With the pretty little salad leaves, JUST right for me. And I love how colourful you made it, given the dish alone is pale. Wow…and taken with the borrowed phone even.
    I’m amazed at how crisp it is. Well done! LOL. I’ll be over for leftovers!

    1. Hi Mel,
      This must be a girly sized portion 🙂 We are VERY into salad. I have even used nuts,cranberries or other yummies in the past.
      Yes, it is a bone white china plate. I just wanted a neutral background. I did tweek the exposure once they were downloaded but that’s it.
      Come on down anytime for leftovers 😉
      xox

  3. Looks very professional, like a photo shoot for ‘Gourmet’ magazine!

    This being St. Patrick’s Day, the dish reminds me somewhat of shepard’s pie, but the French name is definitely more appetizing!

    1. Hi,
      I can say that I enjoy coking here in France. I never used as many fresh veggies or cook home made since I have been in France! Nice knowing your blog. 🙂

    1. Hi Cocomino,
      Merci! Many Thanks. I can send you the recipe if you like. It is a traditional recipe with mashed potatoes, ground meat, onion,garlic and salt and pepper. I understand you- a great number of sushi shops in Paris are NOT run by Japanese( I see the Chinese alter in the shop & know!!) 🙂

  4. Hi Peter,
    Oh my goodness; Thank you! I was surprised at how the iphone did with a couple of these. I actually was on a chair and looked down on the plate.
    I have seen shepard’s pie and can agree; a meat pie. Hachis( literally “hash” is delish; a great way to use up leftover meat.
    Cheers!

    1. Hi Mitzie,
      Thank you! This is a rustic and simple French dish. I would bet that most French families serve it. À classic. No problem for a glass of bubbly!
      Clink! Cheers to you!!

Leave a Reply

