Wishing you 10,000 flowers(and many more)

Happy Springtime!

These posies are on my neighbor’s fence; the first flowers to show their faces in the ‘hood.

I don’t know what variety they are; I just like their color:

DSC_1240

DSC_1237

I found a Springtime poem that takes us on a trip… Step in the time machine, we are traveling to 13th century China.

Ten thousand flowers in spring, the moon in autumn
 by Wu Men (Hui-k’ai)

English version by Stephen Mitchell
Original Language Chinese

Ten thousand flowers in spring, the moon in autumn,

 a cool breeze in summer, snow in winter.

 If your mind isn’t clouded by unnecessary things,

 this is the best season of your life.

http://www.poetry-chaikhana.com/index.html

Enjoy the day :).

17 thoughts on “Wishing you 10,000 flowers(and many more)

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      I am happy that you enjoyed both flowers and poem. Yes, wishing one’s life away for living too much in the future is out of the now.
      Enjoy the day.
      X

  1. HAPPY SPRING, BARB!!!!!

    And I totally forgot about today being the first day of spring until I read your beautiful post!

    Gorgeous photos, my friend! LOVE the color of the blossoms. A coral-red!

    Lovely poem!

    ” If your mind isn’t clouded by unnecessary things,

    this is the best season of your life”

    Amen!

    Enjoy your day!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Happy Spring to you, babe! I hope that Philly is thawing out. To see the signs of Spring is a wonderful therapy.
      Coral red you say? I think so too and this is a fab color!!
      May the poem remind everyone of the power of NOW.
      I am passing a virtual hug now xoxo.

  2. Uh huh…-7 this morning….I’m takin’ it up with the groundhog. :-/ Just sayin’.

    And I’d be lying if I didn’t self report the “OH MANNNN” that happened when I saw the photos. ABSOLUTELY wonderful to have those in your space I’m sure. Wonderful treat for the soul. But when I then read the words, I felt myself shrink a bit–a very good thing for all the whining I was indulging in. Really…it’s me rushing and wanting to shove the process instead of enjoying the season I’m in.
    I built my snowman…..now bring me daffodils dangitall….NOW! Yes, horribly demanding and human of me. But really….Being present today and tossing out MY agenda to just enjoy what IS….meant that wee snowman that makes me heart happy actually got to happen when I didn’t think it would.
    LOL. You don’t suppose the Big Guy is holding back on the daffodils cuz I whined about no snow angels too, do ya?! LOL. Well…..could be!!!! 😀

    1. Hi Mel,
      It is funny how the official day of Spring is very unrepresented in a lot of places. Some places, it is Springlike, other times not at all.
      Yes, the lovely poem is saying “be here NOW”. Enjoy another snowman, throw a snowball, catch snowflakes on your tongue, etc.
      Awwhh yes; the snowman can do miracles…
      I’ll get a lil word to the Big guy about those daffodils in your corner of the world 🙂

      xox

  3. hello Barbara, they look like little heads, wearing red hoods 🙂 .. I just had a google for the flower and they look like the Japanese Quince ….might be wrong , but they look like them ..:-)

    1. Hi Anne,
      LOL; you are right! I never saw it like that!! How funny!!
      OK, Japanese quince is a possibility for these. They do look Oriental.
      Have a happy weekend, my dear!
      xoxo

    1. Hi Rita,
      I am late replying (Spring energy has me bouncing like a ball!).
      You are so very welcome, my dear. Anything that I can do to brighten the day.
      Happy weekend!!
      xox

    1. Hi Karly,
      Welcome! Thank you for following my blog.
      I was quite impressed with all the wisdom packed in a few lines. Yes, a keeper, indeed! 🙂

  4. xpat92, what a beautiful photos(s) and poem. Love, love love this post — well done and thanks for finding those inspirational words. And thanks for taking the photo of those flowers – sooooooo lovely.

    Hope all is well in Paris and xxoo to you and D from C and C

Leave a Reply

