D’s picks-Rouen

I glanced sadly at the building and said to D that it this might need some restauration.The whole building had holes everywhere. Like so many pockmarks. I felt bad for the building.

A section of the courthouse in Rouen:

DSCN0024

Upon a closer inspection, we found a marker that explained it all.

It is all about war.

I am in France. This is not my native country but my husband is born here with of course generations of his family. They lived and suffered through WWII. That is why I am letting D and his photos illustrate this post.

This is a marker on the courthouse. I shall translate the marker:

DSCN0026

Memorial marker.

” The impacts of the bombs during the bombing of Red week( 30 May to 5 June 1944) and 26 August 44 were voluntarily maintained in their state to pay tribute to and to perpetrate the memory of the thousands of victims of these crucial days and remind us what price was paid by the city of Rouen for the liberation of France”.

Scars left from the bombings…

DSCN0025

Gargoyle sentinels of the courthouse.

DSCN0028

I am not a military history buff. But, I am sensitive to how History has shaped each of us, our families and  our nations.

In France during WW II, neither D’s uncle nor his Dad were drafted in WWII (they were too young). But it did mark years of sacrifice, rationing and hunger that the family vegetable garden happily helped to alleviate.

At the same time in the US, my father had already enlisted in the US Navy when Pearl Harbor was bombed.

The world is not so small at all…

Different countries,

Different struggles,

but the same suffering and sadness.

Wishing Peace to all.

12 thoughts on “D’s picks-Rouen

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      I have the same feeling looking at this court house as I do the dome in Hiroshima or a similar dome on a building in Berlin. Incredible sadness. You are right; this is a good reminder.
      “If those buildings could only talk, what stories they would tell.”

  1. I had that same initial reaction when I saw the first photo–wow…….’the poor building needs some help”. And then came the close ups and the plaque. And that somber feeling that comes when the ‘whole lives were forever changed’ kinda moment hits me.
    I wonder if people who live there get that same, sombering feeling as they walk past this, daily.
    It has a huge presence about it that speaks to a whole era of people forever changed.
    Thank D for the photos –and thank him for being all that he is.
    *hugs*

    1. Hey Mel,
      I love old buildings so when they are standing up and looking used, I feel bad for them.
      I think that you also are a baby boomer and probably the daughter or granddaughter of someone who was in one of the two WWs. Yes, I have been pretty well schooled in what that means but I am still sad when it comes to war.
      Yes, it means a lot to those people lost and their families to keep the courthouse as a reminder of this period.
      May we never forget what war is…

      xox

  2. What a wonderful post, Barb. And so timely for what is going on here in the States.

    “The world is not so small at all…

    Different countries,

    Different struggles,

    but the same suffering and sadness.”

    You are so right!

    Wow, you can actually feel the pain and suffering in these photos; marked as a reminder.

    Please tell D I said, “Excellent photos!”

    X to you both!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Thank you so much. I think that the violence and hate of Boston was surely in the back of my mind when I looked through the photos.
      This building has suffered so much( I feel it too).
      I was talking about the post today to D. WW II was an extremely poor and hard time in Europe. This greatly influenced his Dad and that generation.
      Dad was very thrifty and hated throwing “usable” things away( hence the junk to clear out in the house 50+ years later!)
      D was happy to share and I will pass him your kind words.
      xox

    1. Salut Zhu,
      Yes, this really does. I felt this and said to D ” imagine being under those Nazi planes as they shower bombs”. “Where to hide? How to even know how to survive?” Incredible… Completely terrible.
      xox

  3. Hi Mitzie,
    It is nice to hear from you from all the way over in Bangkok 🙂
    Yes, this is an eternal reminder (beautiful phrase) and I think it is significative to leave reminders like these.
    Happy day to you, my friend.

  4. OMG, I have never seen so big holes in buildings. In Helsinki there are yet today some holes in one statue by guns, but these are something which I cannot describe.

  5. Hello Sartenada,
    It’s nice to see you! This building lefted me with an ernormous feeling. Yes, the holes were everywhere around the courthouse and very big. This was the first time that my husband & I have seen a building that survived WWII.
    A very powerful statement…
    P.S. By commenting, you are now entered for the future bllog drawing to be held in August. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

