Saying au revoir to Rouen

I am wrapping up this short tour of Rouen. It has been a pleasure to share.Rouen is really not far at all from Paris, so we just may return again this year.

For the finale, it seems fitting to feature the beautiful wooden homes of Rouen’s center city.
I love these so much.

For your viewing pleasure, I have some of “D’s pick’s” and some of “Barb’s picks”, showing these tall wooden homes together:

D’s picks:

 

DSCN0120

This home is marked “1664”. Date of it’s foundation! Click to see a close up of the date.

DSCN0118

DSCN0112

DSCN0122

DSCN0167

Barb’s picks:

DSC_0214

DSC_0049

DSC_0205

DSC_0194

DSC_0179

Before the end of the month, D and I will be off to a new destination that I will reveal to you shortly.

Have a wonderful week and be well!

14 thoughts on “Saying au revoir to Rouen

  1. Boujour Barbara and D… Aren’t they just amazing … I love them too. I have not done a post on them ..even though my trip was two years ago!!!! I have lots of them too.. reminds me of the Alsace area ..(think this is the right area ๐Ÿ™‚ ).. I think I have a photo as the same as you , second one down.

    Oh I am excited to read where you and D are off too.. a new destination ..mmmmm I wonder where that is ๐Ÿ™‚ .. Hugs xoxo anne

    1. Bonjour Anne,
      Merci ๐Ÿ™‚ Hi there. I hope that you are well. I can just imagine the hundreds of photos you must have. Have two years already gone by so quickly? My goodness.
      I will announce the destination next week. All I can say is that it is in France and not a huge distance from Paris (that leaves a LOT of possibilities).

      Take care and have a great week.
      xox

    1. Salut Zhu,
      This is an architectually “rich” city. I have said to D that I love Rouen because minus 3 old homes in Paris, has lost this. Paris took Baron Haussman’s path (note: a man who traced what would be modern Paris with its avenues and buildings in the 19th century).
      Cheers to you, Zhu!

  2. GREAT picks, both yours AND D’s!

    I’m sitting here having my morning cup of coffee and enjoying looking at all the architectural detail in each photo. What an adorable and charming place Rouen is!

    It’s so interesting to see how both of you caught something completely different in your photographic eyes. I especially love the last one of D’s and your black and whites!

    Thank you both for sharing this tour of Rouen. Thoroughly enjoyed it! Looking forward to seeing what you guys come up with on your next trip!

    X to you both!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Hey there! I am happy that you enjoyed our photos! Thank you very much for your kind words.
      I think so also that D & I’s point of views are contrasting and I LOVE that. We agreed that we complimented each other, catching things that each other didn’t see/ saw differently.
      That’s art; no right, no wrong.
      Rouen is a charming city. We highly recommend it!!
      I will announce our following destination next week- stay tuned.
      xox

  3. Ohhhhhh…..don’t make me pick. They’re awesome in black and white, but the colour ones just jump out at you with their lines and angles. They’re awesome. I so love the old frameworkings. And the closeup in red……wow….NOTHING even close to that around these parts. LOL THERE’S a surprise.
    Isn’t it just wonderful to wander so close to home and make such amazing discoveries? I love adventures……and I’m looking forward to your next one. *laughing* Mostly cuz I reap the rewards from my little chair wayyyyyyyyyy over here without having to leave the house! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Hi Mel,
      Thank you honey; no, this is not a contest; they are just for looking!
      This is VERY old world; wood framings, carvings beams and sharp angles. I really love these old homes. You see of course many variants in Europe (such as in England).
      I vary between the going times and the times when I am just at home. Some people just like to stay at home and admire photos and that is just fine. Journeys of the mind count too.
      xox

    1. Hi Sartenada,
      Thank you! Rouen is one of the closest side trips for Paris area visitors. I highly recommend because of the unique architecture. Paris got rid of almost all these quaint wooden homes in the 19th century.
      I am glad that you enjoyed!
      Happy weekend :).

    1. Hi Bams,
      It is so Nice to see you.
      My humbke Thanks. I loved sharing with you and all the blog friends.
      See you very soon! Have a great Sunday and a positive week.

Leave a Reply

