Weekly photo challenge: In the background

This week’s photo challenge goes like this:

In the Background: The places that we pass through day after day, or even once in a lifetime, leave in their small way, echoes and traces of themselves upon us. But so often when taking self portraits or pictures of friends, the places themselves become a soft blurred mush of indistinct semi-nothingness, the limelight stolen by our smiling faces. In today’s challenge, let’s turn the tables. Take a picture of yourself or someone else as a shadow, a reflection, or a lesser part of a scene, making the background, or — as in the example above — the foreground, the center of attention”.

I took a photo last December where a man almost becomes a part of the background. He was setting up projectors for the Notre Dame de Paris anniversary celebrations. You hardly notice him but he is there doing his job:

DSC_0413

DSC_0413-001

In cinamascope.

With his dark clothing against the black metal towers, I am pretty sure that he went almost unnoticed, especially by the hordes of tourists who were busily shooting the outside of the cathedral.

It goes to show you, to be able to see one event like a show, movie, or a visit to a famous monument, many people are in the background to ensure a pleasant and safe experience.

P.S. More posts from our journey to Bourges in France will resume tomorrow. If you are new, check out the two posts after this one to see what I am talking about.

13 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: In the background

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      It really looks like he is a part of his surroundings! He just blends in with his “basic black” ( very Parisian to be in black, you know).
      Cheers!!

  1. I love this capture, Barb, because it almost looks as though he’s ‘lighting’ the shot!

    What I enjoy about people (or things) in the background of photos is that it creates a ‘photo within a photo’ making the image all the more fascinating.

    Love what you did with the cinemascope effect!

    Have a lovely Tuesday, my friend!

    X

    1. Hey there Ronnie,

      Thank you, hon! I never thought of it from that angle ” ‘lighting’ the shot!”.
      Good one!!
      This was a hard challenge in several ways. First of all, it makes us think OUTSIDE THE BOX; in other words, just getting front and center.
      I have to use this more often, using more hidden people or objects or mixing light & dark.

      Thanks for coming down.
      xox

    1. Hey there Zhu,
      It’s great to be back commenting. I’ve been so busy.
      I think that it takes a calm mind and strong body to work in heights. Not everyone likes them!
      I enjoyed watching something different in front of the cathedral!
      Thank you for your kind words.
      Bises.

  2. Well done Barbara ,, I noticed the carvings on the door way before I saw the man, he certainly is sort of hidden , you know what I mean 🙂 xx

    1. Hi Anne,
      Welcome home!
      Ah; you also zoomed in on the door :). When I was there, I had an idea to do interior photos so, I was not looking at the entrances. I was in a state of mind to notice our stuntman.
      Many Thanks and see you soon.
      xox

  3. LOL I wanted him to MOVE so I could see what was lurking behind him.
    But yes, first I noted the doorway and the black next to it…..and THEN I noted the fella who was IN THE WAY of seeing what the statue was behind him. :-/
    (just like me to be sooooooo demanding, huh? LOL)

Leave a Reply

