Weekly photo challenge: The sign says

This week’s photo challenge is all about signs.  Show me a country and its signs will always have some unique qualities.

I love the sign below because it is classy and very “old world”.

amiens 2010 003

The sign says in French: “Le vitrail” or ” Stained glass”.

You can see a beautiful example of glass work in this sign. The last line of the sign says the stained glass artist’s name. This sign hangs in front the artist’s studio.

The photo came from a trip to Amiens, in the Picardie region of France. Behind the sign, you can see one of the spires of Notre Dame cathedral peeking out.

Happy weekend to all!

8 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: The sign says

  1. The spires caught my eye straight away ,, and it is a beautiful sign .. Ah so it means Stained Glass , thought it was the name of a shop ..obviously “An artist who does stained glass” wonderful 🙂 xox

    1. Hi Anne,
      Welcome back 😉 This sign looked so photogenic next to the cathedral. I didn’t have time to visit but it must be lovely inside.
      Now you learned a new word in French say ” Veet-rye”. And voilà 😉
      xox

    1. Salut Zhu,
      This caught my eye quickly! The artist created a sort of “coat of arms”… see the flames!
      I am glad that you enjoyed.
      Bises.

  2. Barb, I LOVE this post and photo because as you know…I’m a BIG sign person. I LOVE them because each one has its own personality!

    I love the stained glass of this one!

    Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

    Much X to you and D!

    1. Hey there Ronnie,
      Yes, you are a sign fan. I encourage you to go click on the links at the wp weekly photo challenge( the wp button on my sidebar) and find other cool signs.
      I am glad that you enjoyed. xox
      Happy weekend.

  3. Wow…..that sucker must weight a TON. Oh, but it’s gorgeous… The coat of arms is perfect for the background that tries to steal the show.
    I love the old stained glass. I had a go at it, once upon a time. Costly habit, time consuming but oh so worth it! And I don’t have a single piece. LOL But the sister does, of course. Built into the entry way to the dining area….it touches me that she made it a piece of the whole–exactly as stained glass oughta be.

    Awesome photo!

  4. Hi Mel,
    I wonder how your comment went unanswered on my part?? (Sigh- I don’t like when I miss someone)
    I am so glad that you enjoyed. Another secret life of Mel: Stained glass maker. You made a piece of stained glass for your sister. How wonderful. Blessed you are.
    XO

Leave a Reply

