Weekly photo challenge – Curves

Along the suburban railroad tracks that lead to Paris (or to it’s burbs) I found these gentle curves:

DSC_0891-002

At the “Cité Universitaire” RER station these curvy tracks lead the eyes towards a bright yellow locomotive.

I edited the photo using HDR option (High dynamic range). Don’t ask me to explain how HDR works, but it is fabulous  where there are lines or textures. Here, it accentuates the curves. It also gives a slightly “gritty” look to the tracks and rocks. A much more interesting photo than before editing.

Wishing everyone a happy weekend and a great week.

20 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge – Curves

  1. I have a gal who only uses HDR and her photos are just awesome! This one just POPS and screams at you to look at the details. Weird….and I thought HDR was a function of the camera, not a photo editing function. Maybe I’m wrong! I frequently am! LOL

    1. Hey there Mel,
      Take a hint from your friend who loves HDR. HDR gives DRAMA! Lines, textures and strong colors pop.
      Thank you so much. I know, with all types of “alphabet soup”, it’s easy to get confused. I think that you won’t find in on your camera. Look on any good photo editing program (Picasa is free). You will find the function.
      We are all learning, myself included!!
      xox

  2. FAB photo, Barb!

    Love the combination of color and black and white!

    I like to use HDR for certain photos because as you shared, it gives such a wonderful grittiness and texture to images; accenting lines and curves.

    REALLY nice, my friend!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ronnie,
      Many Thanks, my dear. When I saw the curves on this photo, I said that was it. But, it needed a “tweek”. 🙂 HDR is fun. It is not for all subjects but here it was right on.
      I was happy to share this scene from along my suburban train route.
      Happy weekend back and xox back, too!

  3. When I hear “curves” I think of the curves of the human body, these curves we, women, always try to control and erase… yet they are beautiful. Train tracks too, mind you 😉

    1. Salut Zhu,
      Oh yes; the curves of a woman’s body are a work of art. Think of the photo you would have of a woman if there were not any “texture” anywhere on her.
      I truly believe that self-love applies to our little soft zones, too 🙂
      I LOVE train tracks. 🙂
      Bises.

  4. These curves are so restful. I have to look into Picasa when I have a bit more time. So far I just take pictures and not much else with them, although I have figured out how to put my name on them. 🙂 One small step for photo-kind!

    janet

  5. Hi,
    Thank you for stopping by. I loved how peaceful these curves looked (OK; when there are no trains above!). I liked the inital photo but when I saw how it fitted with the theme I said “What can I do more?”. I was excited by the result! Sometimes I rry HDR and it is awful with some scenes.
    Picasa is really fun and I highly recommend it.
    Have a great week! 🙂

  6. Very dramatic my friend, you are going to be out there one day ♥ Loving how much you are learning and sharing with us xoxo

    1. Hi Anne,
      Many Thanks, my friend. I think that everyone can express themselves in Photography. It has never been easier with photo editing and lots of free reading materials online. The world is an oyster for digital photographers!
      Happy Monday to you xox

Leave a Reply

