Weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic

I chose this photo to illustrate the theme of “nostalgic”.

img137_large

There was my Dad looking healthy (in the following decade,he would become very ill) and relaxed.

There was the house where I grew up (and where the family no longer lives) in Hawaii. Finally, the added nostalgia of my paternal grandparents in the oïl painting behind Dad.

I have the original paper photo and a date is stamped: February 1986. I was back in the USA and living another life there.

Spin off for more Nostalgia in my mind…

Have a wonderful week!

18 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Nostalgic

  1. Oh Barb, what a beautifully touching photo depicting nostalgia.

    Your photo and words went straight to my heart.

    I love how the image includes both your father and the oil painting in the background of your grandparents. Perfect photo!

    (((((( You ))))))

    Thanks so much for sharing this, my friend!

    Have a wonderful week!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hi Ron,
      Thank you so much, my friend (((( Ron)))).
      It is so perfect to have the son(Dad) and the parents(my grandparents) reunited in one shot. So cool. You have here three Philadelphia born people. My roots!!
      You are so welcome for the share. See you tomorrow!
      xox

    1. Hi Bams,
      It is so nice to see you. Thank you so much.
      I no longer have who or what is in the photo so that makes for nostalgia.
      Happy Sunday to you also!

    1. Hi Bij,
      Thank you; this is one of my favs. The oïl painting was made through an old photo portrait of my grandparents. I will be “adopting” it this year, as my sis dosen’t have much room for pictures & such.
      Enjoy your week!

  2. Very appropriate and precious thought of your dad and grandparents, and when I saw the year 1986, my ears “perked up” as that’s when my son was born! Seems like just yesterday I was holding him in my arms.

    1. Hi Rowena,
      Thank you very much. Thank goodness that we have Photography to remind us of the past and our loved ones.
      1986. A great year for Rowena! How beautiful :). I don’t have the fortune to have children but I can so easily feel that joy.

      Have a wonderful week.

  3. Wow. What an amazing thing to have. The history in one shot…it’s something I would hold dear. I’d suppose part of that is because I have no photos of ‘back then’. Maybe that’s an okay thing. It makes it that much more special when folks who do….openly share. Thank you for that.

    1. Hi Mel,
      This one is one of my favs. The pose with the grandparents in the back, looking on is super cool. Yes my dear, you brought that up once that you don’t have any photos left of youur past. You will always have your memories of the good times. Those are also precious. Have a great week, my dear.

  4. Hey Barbara! I have never seen this picture. Pleasure to see it. I have never seen the oil painting on the wall either. 1986 is the year Tyler was born also. Thanks for sharing. love it! ❤

    1. Hey there Peg!
      Thanks for stepping by, cuz! I think that Bill passed this one to me. The oïl painting was ordered as a b day gift to Dad from my Mom years back. Sis says that I can have this one… we are working on getting it sent.

      1986 WAS a wonderful year; Tyler’s birth year :).
      Hugs back to ya xox

    1. Hi Anne ,,
      Many Thanks to you, sweets. I honestly don’t know WHO took this photo; me or my Mom; It has been so long. But, it is a cool the grl capture to havc the grandparents behind Dad!
      Take care and enjoy your return home.
      xox

  5. WOW… I got really choked up with this one. My dad was Navy… died of cancer about 17 years ago. We have pictures of him in his uniform all over, and of course relaxed pictures of him “pre-sick.”

    I love how you captured your father as well as your grandparents behind. Beautiful!

    1. Hi Katherine,
      I ican understand how you feel. Oh yes… All those happy and proud photots of the good years. We have ours also and Thank God for good memories in photo!!
      I would think that your family knows the Naval Hospital, SD also. My Dad worked there at one time.
      As I mentioned to Anne, it could have been my shot or my Mom’s. It is such a long time ago. LOL!!

Leave a Reply

