Weekly photo challenge: Masterpiece

This week’s theme is: Masterpiece:

Masterpiece. No matter where you are (and where you’ve been), I’m certain you’ve stumbled upon something extraordinary: a place that blows your mind; a work of art or object that speaks to you; or even a location or scene that’s special, unusual, or even magical in some way.”

I came almost “nose to nose” with this one coming back home after going on a short walk .

I knew that the Universe was showing me a natural masterpiece. Because spider webs are masterpieces!!

DSC_0317

I will leave you with the tender words from a special author. E.B. White wrote one of my favorite childhood books, Charlotte’s web.

The Spider’s web

The spider, dropping down from twig,
Unfolds a plan of her devising,
A thin premeditated rig
To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,
In cool descent and loyal hearted,
She spins a ladder to the place
From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do
In spider’s web a truth discerning,
Attach one silken thread to you
For my returning.

— E B White

(Original title: “Natural History”)

Wishing you all a happy week.

21 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Masterpiece

  1. A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.!! Seriously–with the rainbow of colours in the strands he took the time and energy to weave…just amazing. And yes, a masterpiece! (the poem is just awesome in and of itself, too!)
    There’s a web by the downspout on a protected corner of the house that I’ve not had the heart to remove. I’ve watched Mr. Spider grow all summer long, and the web right along with him. He’s cuter than cute (though most folks don’t think so..LOL). We were touching the web and watching Mr. Spider zip around just this weekend–and not once did I think of pulling out the camera. *laughing* It’s shady, so I wouldn’t get the pretty colours….but still…….. 🙂

    1. Hi Mel,
      Thank you, my dear. This was a challenge to photograph! The sun was peeking from the back, good and bad( a lot of sun flare on one side!), then with the shadows around it.
      I looked about an hour later and the web was in the shadows.Awwh; an adoptee on your corner. You are kind. :).I think that they are creatures that serve a purpose, even if people don’t find them pretty.
      We would be overrun with bugs if there were no spiders!

      You are very welcome for the poem. Have a wonderful Monday xox.

      How kind you are to leave the spider’s home on the

  2. Nature is a world of little masterpieces like this one, and like you, a person simply has to stop and look around them. I remember Charlotte’s Web!

    On another entirely different note, can you tell me what “Dépêche-toi!” means when spoken to a dog? On the translator it says “hurry”, but that didn’t seem like what our host was saying to her dog whenever he’d come out and start barking at guests. In fact, she looked pretty pissed and kept shouting, Dépêche-toi! Dépêche-toi! I thought she was telling the dog to be quiet!

    1. Hi Rowena,
      I know that you can happily lose yourself in nature 🙂 I like being lost like that.
      D & I think that the lady shortened her phrase dépêche toi, truncating something like ” dépêche toi (de la fermer”) or shut your mouth, now! or dépêche -toi (de déguérpir) scoot! Get the heck out of here!).
      Does that make sense? I guess that we would have had to be there to get the full effect!

      1. That makes a lot of sense….thank you! She always, and I mean ALWAYS came stomping out of her kitchen when the dogs ran out to bark at us. They were actually really sweet and wanted to play (with our two dogs), but I get the feeling that she didn’t want them to disturb us or any of the other guests.

      2. Howzit Rowena,
        I am glad that we could help! Oh my goodness, a warrior wahine! I bet that your doggies enjoyed the company. That’s nice when dogs can have fun and make aquaintances, just like their owners.
        See you on your blog. 🙂

  3. It’s a good thing that spider didn’t get your nose! Lovely capture topped off perfectly with E.B. White poem!

  4. Hi,
    Thank you so much. My two other prospects of the morning were both man-made “masterpieces” and they both paled a bit in comparison.
    The sun was shining at that momenT, sparing me from a sticky kiss… and the loss of a photo!

    Cheers to you!!

  5. Salut Zhu,
    It is nice to see you back in Ottawa. I hope that you are easing into your homelife.
    Yes, a North American classic but not a French one. I would think that Le petit prince is a classic here. Are there any books that you remember enjoying as a kid?
    Bises..

  6. “I knew that the Universe was showing me a natural masterpiece. Because spider webs are masterpieces!!”

    They sure are, Barb! And what a BRILLIANT photo capture! WOW! Love how you caught the ‘rainbow effect’ in the web!

    You know, I have the book, ‘Charlotte’s Web’ and now that you mentioned it, I think I need to read it again. WONDERFUL story that is!

    Thanks for sharing your masterpiece photo, my friend!

    WELL done!

    Happy Tuesday!

    X to you and D!

    1. Hey there Ronnie,
      A very heartfelt Merci!! I was very grateful that I found this web(that is since my shooting, a round masterpiece).
      I tell you, the Universe has quite a sense of humor. I went to photograph two structures in the immediate region (man-made historical monument type building). I was quite frankly feeling “so-so” about the choices(Psst…that does show in your end product when that happens) and then I came home to THAT Under the sunbeams. Hehe :).
      Enjoy your time off xoxo.

    1. Hi Bijoux,
      I sometimes say that all creatures are here for a reason.
      Spiders have a bad reputation but they do help to decrease the insect & fly population.
      Anyway that one looks at it, spiderwebs are of an endless fascination & beauty.

  7. that’s a beautiful web. they are so very difficult to photograph. only once was i able to get a decent shot of one. nice bokeh.

    1. Hi Val,
      Agreed; the spiderweb being so transparent, finding the right light is darn hard! I had to very slowly pan around until I had a nice angle.
      Thank you so much, my dear.
      See you soon!

Leave a Reply

