Reflecting on the summer of the Dragonfly

On a summer morning in 2013, a shiny turquoise thing zoomed past me in our  garden. ” What was that?!”, I said as I gave it a closer look. It was in  fact a lone dragonfly. I had never seen one in these suburbs in over 20 years of residence here. We have neither a lake or any kind of pond in which dragonflies could eat and breed merrily.

Being a photo person, I immediately went inside the house to grab my camera. Not before saying to the dragonfly ” don’t move, honey”. I am like that with any creature… I talk to animals.

I popped back out and found the flashy creature to be still there. I stood at a respectable distance and clicked. I got my chance. As soon as the shutter went off, that creature was gone.

DSC_1630-001

I am someone who believes in signs. But I have not always been like this. Perhaps 5 or 10 years ago, I would have tossed this off as a fluke or a curiosity… maybe it was because of the weather or some weird “natural conditions”. Some of you may be thinking likewise as you read this post.

I think that all we pick and choose whatever meaning that we want to get out of experiences. Even the extraordinary ones, like seeing a dragonfly when you normally never see them.

I looked up the symbolic meaning of the dragonfly. It was really spot on. I went to an excellent website called : http://www.spiritanimal.info/
Here is  a short paragraph on the signification of the dragonfly:

The dragonfly is generally associated with the symbolic meaning of transformation. Here are common meanings for this animal totem:
•Change and transformation
•Adaptability
•Joy, lightness of being
•Symbol of the realm of emotions, invitation to dive deeper into your feeling
•Being on the lookout for illusions and deceits, whether are external or personal
•Connection with nature’s spirits, fairies realms

The word that stuck for me was : transformation.

At the time, I started to create a new life. I had seen a father-in-law pass away in 2010. I had tended to some of this elderly man’s needs for a long time. After his passing, I had many things to do. There was paperwork and also numerous objects to sort, throw out or donate. Then one day, I realized that I had finished my duty.

It was time to take care of me….

I had to now shed my skin and build my own life… Since crossing paths with that jeweled visitor, I have known changes galore. The type of changes that make you ask the “Life 101″ questions of ” What am I doing?”, “What do I want?”and of course ” What do I do now with my life?”.

The mid-life crisis scenario! It figures; I am in that age range. Crisis can be traumatic or painful. But it can also be exciting.

It was the era of the dragonfly that had begun for me. It is still ongoing. I am earning my wings.

I am leaving you with a poem about dragonflies. Enjoy and spread your wings today! Don’t wait until tomorrow to do so!!!

The Dragon-fly

By Alfred Lord Tennyson

Today I saw the dragon-fly

Come from the wells where he did lie.

An inner impulse rent the veil

Of his old husk: from head to tail

Came out clear plates of sapphire mail.

He dried his wings: like gauze they grew;

Thro’ crofts and pastures wet with dew

A living flash of light he flew.

3 thoughts on “Reflecting on the summer of the Dragonfly

  1. When I was a child I would swim at a pool with ice cold water and an abundance of dragonflys. I never realized their beauty util you began reflecting, Barbara. Thanks for the memories.

  2. Hi Rita,
    What a lovely image you shared. I did not grow up with these types of insects. I came to Europe where I got to “meet” or see creatures that I only saw in books as a child.
    I am very touched if I could stir up a few memories about the beauty of dragonflies. I am touched that you have come on a late summer’s eve to share this.
    Take care. xox

Leave a Reply

